DNS on SuSe Linux

Thread: DNS on SuSe Linux

DNS on SuSe Linux

I recently installed SuSe Linux 8.0 professional on an old computer I had. It's my first time using linux. I have a home network with 3 windows computers, a router, and now this computer. I can get to the other computers on my network now, but I have no DNS. I can go to websites by their IP adress, but not by name. I don't know what I'm supposed to put in the host name, domain name, name server, and domain search list fields in the network card configuration, so I figure that's the problem. Can anyone help me out?
    It is better to die on your feet than to live on your knees.

first step youngin, I'd say get a newer version of SUSE if you can do so. 8.0 is no longer supported at all so you might want to upgrade that. Next, what did you install? SUSE by default is made to be as painless as possible which is why I do custom installs to get everything I want on there, so you may want to use YAST and install things for DNS.

I installed the standard package without star office, with a few exceptions. I included some packages I knew I'd want later like nmap, ethereal, and snort. I had to get 8.0 because the computer I'm running it on doesn't have enough RAM for 9.X

Simple question - what are the other computers using for a DNS server?

Assuming the YAST screen for SuSE 8.0 looks something like this... http://shots.osdir.com/slideshows/sl...e=145&slide=44 ...you want to put the IP address of the DNS server your other machines are using into the field "Name Server 1"

I am _not_ suggesting you fill in the fields or check boxes as shown in the slide.

Alternatively you could run nslookup (using one of your other PCs) on the name of the website you intend to browse to and put the info into /etc/hosts. You probably don't what to do this ;-)

And I know what you mean about SuSE 9 wanting more RAM than SuSE 8 (with a default installation)!

Yep, that's exactly what I needed. Thanks a ton!