Poblem with scanner
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Poblem with scanner

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    262

    Poblem with scanner

    Hi folks I am having a real problem with my Vista scanner I was inserting a photo when my scanner stopped working. I have tried removing and reinstalling the software no luck I have tried googling no help either. The lamp comes on but then the test for scanner comes up and can not find the scanner. I have a pentium 3 and am running windows 98se. The version of my scanner is Astra 2000 u/p 3.52p. When I go into systems tools it comes up problem device and the following I have tried to use the self-help but there was nothing there that made any difference when I tried.
    Communications Port (COM2)
    Ports
    This Device Has a Problem: Code=12 (0xC)
    This device is causing a resource conflict. To resolve the conflict, use the
    Hardware Conflict Troubleshooter in Help.
    Registry Key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\enum\ACPI\*PNP0501\00000002
    Alloc resources: None
    Forced resources: None
    Boot resources: None
    Filtered resources: Logical Configuration 0
    IRQ: 4 Mask: x0010
    IO Range: Base=x0000 End=x0000 Min=x03F8 Max=x03FF Alias=x00, Decode=x00
    Logical Configuration 1
    IRQ: 3 Mask: x0008
    IO Range: Base=x0000 End=x0000 Min=x02F8 Max=x02FF Alias=x00, Decode=x00
    Logical Configuration 2
    IRQ: 4 Mask: x0010
    IO Range: Base=x0000 End=x0000 Min=x03E8 Max=x03EF Alias=x00, Decode=x00
    Logical Configuration 3
    IRQ: 3 Mask: x0008
    IO Range: Base=x0000 End=x0000 Min=x02E8 Max=x02EF Alias=x00, Decode=x00
    Logical Configuration 4
    IRQ: 3 Mask: x0008
    IO Range: Base=x0000 End=x0000 Min=x03F8 Max=x03FF Alias=x00, Decode=x00
    Logical Configuration 5
    IRQ: 4 Mask: x0010
    IO Range: Base=x0000 End=x0000 Min=x02F8 Max=x02FF Alias=x00, Decode=x00
    Logical Configuration 6
    IRQ: 3 Mask: x0008
    IO Range: Base=x0000 End=x0000 Min=x03E8 Max=x03EF Alias=x00, Decode=x00
    Logical Configuration 7
    IRQ: 4 Mask: x0010
    IO Range: Base=x0000 End=x0000 Min=x02E8 Max=x02EF Alias=x00, Decode=x00
    Basic resources: Logical Configuration 0
    IRQ: 0 Mask: x0010
    IO Range: Base=x0000 End=x0000 Min=x03F8 Max=x03FF Alias=x00, Decode=x00
    Logical Configuration 1
    IRQ: 0 Mask: x0008
    IO Range: Base=x0000 End=x0000 Min=x02F8 Max=x02FF Alias=x00, Decode=x00
    Logical Configuration 2
    IRQ: 0 Mask: x0010
    IO Range: Base=x0000 End=x0000 Min=x03E8 Max=x03EF Alias=x00, Decode=x00
    Logical Configuration 3
    IRQ: 0 Mask: x0008
    IO Range: Base=x0000 End=x0000 Min=x02E8 Max=x02EF Alias=x00, Decode=x00
    Logical Configuration 4
    IRQ: 0 Mask: x0008
    IO Range: Base=x0000 End=x0000 Min=x03F8 Max=x03FF Alias=x00, Decode=x00
    Logical Configuration 5
    IRQ: 0 Mask: x0010
    IO Range: Base=x0000 End=x0000 Min=x02F8 Max=x02FF Alias=x00, Decode=x00
    Logical Configuration 6
    IRQ: 0 Mask: x0008
    IO Range: Base=x0000 End=x0000 Min=x03E8 Max=x03EF Alias=x00, Decode=x00
    Logical Configuration 7
    IRQ: 0 Mask: x0010
    IO Range: Base=x0000 End=x0000 Min=x02E8 Max=x02EF Alias=x00, Decode=x00
    Driver: Ports\0001
    Driver Date: 4-23-1999
    Driver: serialui.dll
    File Size: 12048 (0x2F10)
    File Date: 4/23/1999 10:22 PM
    Company Name: Microsoft Corporation
    File Version: 4.10.1998
    Driver: serial.vxd
    File Size: 18625 (0x48C1)
    File Date: 4/23/1999 10:22 PM
    Company Name: Microsoft Corporation
    File Version: 4.10.2222
    I am not sure if this means anything but I am at a loss what to do. Any help would be very nice as I need the scanner for work.
    PLEASE AND THANKYOU
    No good deed goes unpunished.

  2. #2
    AO übergeek phishphreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    4,324
    It sounds like you have more than one device assigned to use com port 2.

    Did you recently add any new hardware?

    How is the scanner connected? Serial? Parallel? USB?

    Do you have your modem assigned to use the same com port as your scanner?

    Have you looked in the device manager to see if any of the devices have the little yellow ! marks? Do more than one device have that mark?

    Have you tried to remove the scanner, uninstall the hardware from the OS itself, reboot, reconnect scanner to PC, load "fresh" drivers from then manufacturer website?
    Quitmzilla is a firefox extension that gives you stats on how long you have quit smoking, how much money you\'ve saved, how much you haven\'t smoked and recent milestones. Very helpful for people who quit smoking and used to smoke at their computers... Helps out with the urges.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    262
    Hi phishphreek80
    I have not added any new hardware, I have removed the scanner and all software prorams related to the scanner, after completely unplugging from my computer and replugging in the parallel cable I then reinstalled all the drivers and software needed. No luck with the clean install. I checked to make sure my modem was not installed on the some com port and it is assigned to com port3. Now where do I find the Device Manager, what is it, and how does it work? Thanks
    No good deed goes unpunished.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    262
    I googled after I last posted and now know where what and how a device mananger is. There are no yellow checks.
    No good deed goes unpunished.

  5. #5
    Old Fart
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,658
    See if updating your TWAIN drivers does any good.
    Al
    It isn't paranoia when you KNOW they're out to get you...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •