Task Scheduler
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Task Scheduler

  1. #1
    Senior Member Zorolord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    142

    Task Scheduler

    Could anyone please help me!

    I have a batch file on NT 4.00 server. It backups files from another server via this file.

    However I get the following error in the log file

    Backup started on 2/16/05 at 1:48:44.
    You do not have permission to access portions of
    .
    Please see the owner or administrator to get permission.
    You do not have permission to access portions of
    .
    Please see the owner or administrator to get permission.
    You do not have permission to access portions of
    IT.
    Please see the owner or administrator to get permission.
    You do not have permission to access portions of
    USER.
    Please see the owner or administrator to get permission.
    Backup completed on 2/16/05 at 1:48:54.
    Backed up 0 files in 0 directories.
    Processed 0 bytes in 10 seconds.


    When I run the batch file, there isn't problem. However, when I schedule the batch file that is when the problem occurs. I know that it is the permissions.

    I can't change the right in the task scheduler service since "the system account and this account" radio button is locked. system logon was selected.

    I have another Windows NT4 Server which I can set the system account, I believe someone has installed IE5 and that has changed the scheduler service.

    How can I change the system account? or is there any solution for resolving this sitution?

    Many Thank in Advance!

  2. #2
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    Are you using an account that is admin on both machines???

    Create a new task with admin priviledges on both machines...

    What errors do you get??



    MLF
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    118
    I use task scheduler in winxp. It gives you a warning when you use it without a password that there might be permission errors. When specifying the settings, specify the user name and the password of the user under which you are logging in (Admin or whatever). Then schedule the task and see if it works. Hope this helps.
    Never trouble another for what you can do for yourself.
    -Thomas Jefferson

    http://www.AntiOnline.com/sig.php?imageid=777

  4. #4
    Senior Member Zorolord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    142
    Hi Guys

    Thanks for your help

    I have resolved the situation instead of using a AT Schedule, I have found a task scheduler underneath "my computer" some kind of wizard schedule and was able to assign an admin account to run the file in question.

    I was logged on as the domain adminstrator on both servers, however it was the scheduler service that I couldn't change. It must of used service account to backup the other server - which is not possible hense the reason it failed. However I should of been able to assign the domain administrator to scheduler service, and backup the server that way. But the radio button's were greyed out on the service!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •