how secure is just static IPs
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: how secure is just static IPs

how secure is just static IPs

At my work we have about 3 wireless routers (linksys) all have default SSID,no WEP, and no MAC filtering. But the only way to get on the network is through a preassigned static IP. I was wondering (since im a noob at this) how secure is their network?
    -Simo

Underground Bunker, somewhere in Antarctica
    at my place of employment we use alot of linksys routers. they are very secure, we havent had any security problems. however i dont know what our sysadmin did to them. i dont know if this is possible, but you might want to get them to turn on DHCP, because i understand that that assigns different IP's every time. i could be wrong though.
    I know your type, you think "I'll just get me a costume, rip off the neighborhood kids". Next thing you know, you've got a jet shaped like a skull with lasers on the front!
    -The Monarch.

Master-Jedi-Pimps0r & Moderator thehorse13's Avatar
    All this means is that they disabled the DHCP service. This is not a secure setup. Someone with the slightest bit of networking knowledge could be on your WAP in less than a minute.
    Our scars have the power to remind us that our past was real. -- Hannibal Lecter.
    Talent is God given. Be humble. Fame is man-given. Be grateful. Conceit is self-given. Be careful. -- John Wooden

AO Senior Cow-beller

Re: how secure is just static IPs

Originally posted here by Simo
    At my work we have about 3 wireless routers (linksys) all have default SSID,no WEP, and no MAC filtering. But the only way to get on the network is through a preassigned static IP. I was wondering (since im a noob at this) how secure is their network?