Wtf???
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Wtf???

  1. #1
    Senior Member IcSilk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    296

    Wtf???

    This is bummimg me out ..........

    If I use Firefox and go to googles homepage I get a 'site is under construction.....' white screen.

    In HotJava and IE there is no problem with loading google .............

    Someone please explain this to me - it only started last night and Firefox is my preferred browser .......... and Id like to keep it in tip top shape .......

    What do I have to do here???????????????
    "In most gardens they make the beds too soft - so that the flowers are always asleep" - Tiger Lily

  2. #2
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    7,324
    Can you put up a screen shot?
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

  3. #3
    Senior Member IcSilk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    296

    ok ok

    Im sorry .........

    I really should have done this before posting my query . . . I feel like a dork and if I could erase this thread I would ........

    it was stemming from a problem with a new proxy I was using last night and it was simply a case of clearing my cache etc .

    Sorry to waste anyones time . .

    Ms Mittens - if youd still like a screenshot out of curiosity Id be happy to oblige, just let me know



    In off topic news - I have been coming to this site and been a member of it for almost 4 years and I just got Jr. member status ........ Iv spent most my time in the tutorials section obviously.
    "In most gardens they make the beds too soft - so that the flowers are always asleep" - Tiger Lily

  4. #4
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    It just might be scumware. Try clearing history, addresses, cookies, cache and the java cache and see if that makes a difference.

    You might also try running SpyBot Search & Destroy and AdAwareSE in SAFE MODE

    I have had problems similar, and it seemed to be something stuck in the temporary files, although you must also think about malware?

    Good luck

    EDIT: dammit Ic~.................I did not see your second post ...............wwwell as I said, I have had similar

  5. #5
    Senior Member IcSilk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    296
    HaHa thats kinda funny Nihil .......

    Because no sooner was my first query up then Ms Mittens had a reply up - no kidding from the time i went from preview post to submit post there was a reply from her. How do you do that Ms Mittens?? haha
    "In most gardens they make the beds too soft - so that the flowers are always asleep" - Tiger Lily

  6. #6
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Glad to hear your problem is sorted

    Did you not know that the "Ms" stands for "mystic"

    Cheers

  7. #7
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    7,324
    I learned how to type on fast on IRC when giving out "smart ass" replies.
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •