standby is lost
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: standby is lost

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    35

    standby is lost

    hi
    i have a question
    it is related to standby option,
    there is no standby option at power option in my windowsxp.instead ,the hibernate is in side of turnoff and restart. why is it so? can i have standby instead of hibernate?
    is it related to my mainboard and power supply?

    tnx.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,130
    by "standby" you mean "suspend to ram", right?
    On some MoBos, "suspend to ram" must be activated on bios. That will allow you to put your pc on a low voltage state - that is diferent from hibernate. Even if MoBo supports "suspend to ram", power supply must support also, supplying some volt line (that i cant remember at this time) to keep Memory alive and allow MoBo to resume from RAM instead rebooting from disk.
    Meu sítio

    FORMAT C: Yes ...Yes??? ...Nooooo!!! ^C ^C ^C ^C ^C
    If I die before I sleep, I pray the Lord my soul to encrypt.
    If I die before I wake, I pray the Lord my soul to brake.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    35
    tnx
    what is mobos?
    and feather more i use the win98 and i can standby my system is it,my problem is just with winxp.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,130
    mobo = MotherBoard. Sorry by that
    Meu sítio

    FORMAT C: Yes ...Yes??? ...Nooooo!!! ^C ^C ^C ^C ^C
    If I die before I sleep, I pray the Lord my soul to encrypt.
    If I die before I wake, I pray the Lord my soul to brake.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    510
    Go to Start>Settings>Control Panel>Power Options and check and see what options have been selected.
    \"You got a mouth like an outboard motor..all the time putt putt putt\" - Foghorn Leghorn

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    35
    i did it before whatthe.i guested i should select standby instead of hibernate there. but there were the words of standby nowhere.

  7. #7
    hi silvercloud,

    have you ever try to run gpedit.msc if not try to do so, may be it's some thing you must chek out for some critical settings for xp.

    click start->run->type gpedit.msc->ok,

    have fun,

    lokeshdb_ms
    smoking is really bad for ur PC....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •