A brain teasing exercise??
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: A brain teasing exercise??

  1. #1

    A brain teasing exercise??

    HI Pals

    ok, you all have asked some of triky question(s)... try to make it......
    all you have to do is write a c/c++ code for adding two numbers


    BUT

    1.you can not use any of the operator (directly or indirectly ie. sum must not be calculated by using any opperator)nor even bitwise.
    eg.
    making a link list equivalent to sum of two numbers and
    showing count of the list member as sum is invalid because
    u finaly uses '+' operator to calculate sum.

    2. you can not use any pre-define function of any header file.

    try to make it done without playing with registers

    just a simple code........... if you can...... post it here.





    please do not post any thing which is not related to this post.
    queries regarding the question are most welcome.
    it's a braneware
    smoking is really bad for ur PC....

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    557
    Hi

    Reminds me of another brainteaser, which actually has a solution:

    Create a combination of templates in c++, which creates errors
    while compiling/linking, occuring at (precompiled) line-numbers, which
    correspond to prime numbers ... figure THAT out

    Cheers

    P.s. should be in tech humor, shouldn't it ...
    If the only tool you have is a hammer, you tend to see every problem as a nail.
    (Abraham Maslow, Psychologist, 1908-70)

  3. #3
    Flash M0nkey
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    3,447
    hmmm dont know c++ but I think i know a theory which could solve it.

    by breaking the nuber apart and storing it as a string and then using a series of if/else statements to produce an output.

    For example if the first number was 123 and the second was 456

    it would take each number of first and store them as seperate array entrys like

    myArray[0] = "1"
    myArray[1] = "2"
    myArray[2] = "3"

    and the same for the second number and then compare the entrys using either if statements or switch (this is from actionscripting switch/case/break - but am sure c++ has something similar) could then be used to produce an end figure like

    [this is an example in actionscript]

    Code:
    if ((myArray[0] == "1") and (myArray2[0] == "1")) {
             myResult[0] = "2";
    } else if ((myArray[0] == "1") and (myArray2[0] == "2")) {
             myResult[0] = "3";
    } else if ((myArray[0] == "1") and (myArray2[0] == "3")) {
             myResult[0] = "4";
    }
    and so on up to 9 and then do it in reverse order increasing myArray by 1 each time rather than myArray2

    do this for each entry in the arrays and then implode the myResult array to get the actual result. I coul probably do this in actionscript/PHP if I had time but as I said am afraid I dont know c++

    but the basic theory I think is sound and should work......

    so do i get a cookie?

    v_Ln

  4. #4
    Senior Member PacketThirst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    258
    Try this ........

    Find if a given number is even or odd in C using just the basic input/output features.
    NO "if", NO "switch" and all those other constructs .....

    Its simple

  5. #5
    hi
    VAl~ you got it right, but are there any other methord also.
    sec_ware i dont have knowledge of templates but will deffinatly try to that when....
    Packet~ only 'if' and 'switch' are not allowed, rest we can use any thing.....

    lokeshdb_ms
    smoking is really bad for ur PC....

  6. #6
    Senior Member PacketThirst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    258
    hmm ......

    Guess i'll give the logic ...

    scanf(&n); // Read the Number
    int a[ ]={"Even","Odd"}; // Initialize an array
    printf("The number is %d",a[n%2]); // Easy as a pie

  7. #7
    thanx packet~,

    but it can also be done by using

    a loop n a "n%2?condition:condition"

    ok another question

    swap 2 numbers without using any third varriable or pointer.???

    it's realy geting hot in here..
    smoking is really bad for ur PC....

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    786
    PacketThirst -- That was my solution here http://www.antionline.com/showthread...hreadid=262389

    Val's can be done by precomputing a 2 dimensional array. IE, if the numbers to add are 2 + 5, then answers[2][5] would return 7, etc.


    For swaping 2 numbers, here is my solution:
    inputs: num1 = 50, num2 = 42.
    operation: num1 = num1 - num2 = 50 - 42 = 8
    display: num1 = 8; num2 = 42
    operation : num2 = num2 + num1 = 42 + 8 = 50
    display: num1 = 8; num2 = 50
    operation: num1 = num2 - num1 = 50 - 8 = 42
    display: num1 = 42; num2 = 50
    DONE

  9. #9
    Custom User
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    503
    1.you can not use any of the operator (directly or indirectly ie. sum must not be calculated by using any opperator)nor even bitwise.
    but it can also be done by using
    a loop n a "n%2?condition:condition"
    Code:
    % <-- the modulus binary operator
    ? <-- an unary operator
    You said no operators.

    ac

  10. #10
    hi
    gothic_type u missunderstood my question.
    1. "u can not use anay operator" condition is for adding two numbers.
    2. one is the reply for the post of packet~.

    thanx tim~ it's a good logic.

    here's another one ...... question say you can not use third varriable but u can use third memory location ............................ got it .............................. you can use a array insted
    smoking is really bad for ur PC....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •