Career Choice
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Career Choice

Career Choice

I am currently a student at DeVry University studding Network Communications Management. My true concentration is in security forensics.

In any case the more I looking into vulnerabilities and network flaws the issues come from within the programming of the application/protocol etc. and most assaults use multiple programming languages to execute these attacks.

I have two questions, the first is should I be learning how to program? My current studies have only one programming language course (Intro to Java). Second, will the Bachelors degree I'm getting help me get into the field Iím looking for or should I change my major to something else such as MIS or CIS?

Thank You for your time
    Best Regards

How did you like the Java course? I ask because if you don't like programming, use the time to study other areas you do like and this will excell.
    West of House
    You are standing in an open field west of a white house, with a boarded front door.
    There is a small mailbox here.

If you want to get into infosec. - it's probably a worthwhile investment on your part if you learn how programs work and how to program.

you might want to try python as a first step. it's very forgiving of typeo errors compared to the others.

I have a feeling your question will warrant a plethora or opinionated answers.
    1. Always diversify.
    2. Always specialize.
    Contradicting, yes, however, it does make sense.
    You could be an all around networking guy that's pretty sharp at programming. As long as your netadmin skills are up to speed, having a programming foundation will make things easier to understand and could even allow you to manage or help manage a development group down the road in your career. A network admin with a good understanding of programming in multiple languages that specializes in network security would be a good title to sling around.