Thread: Smoothwall Express 2.0 Firewall for Beginners – Part One

Smoothwall Express 2.0 Firewall for Beginners – Part One

Hi AO,

I will take a crack at writing a tutorial for this site. I have never done one before - this is my first. Please be kind. Please feel free to post or PM me your thoughts or suggestions for improvement and I will try my best to implement them into Parts 2 and 3 - if there is community interest.

RY

Smoothwall Express 2.0 Firewall for Beginners – Part One

Q: What is Smoothwall?
    Smoothwall is a firewall based on GNU/Linux. For more information, please visit: http://www.smoothwall.org/. This tutorial is written for the beginner who has not setup a firewall product before and does not have much hands on experience with Linux. This tutorial covers basic setup of Smoothwall. If I get positive feedback and these seems to be an interest in more, I will write up “Part Two – Smoothwall Configuration & Patching for Beginners” and “Part Three – Smoothwall Advanced Setup”.

For this tutorial, the test network setup is as follows:

Internal Interface/Network card [GREEN] [10.0.0.0/24] ---> Smoothwall Firewall ---> External Interface/Network card [RED] [20.0.0.0/24] ---> World Wide Web/Internet

What you will need:
    - A computer with a BIOS that can be set to boot from CD-ROM. Most modern computers have it.
    - A CD burner to burn the ISO image.
    - You will also need 2 network cards for GREEN/RED mode setup. For this tutorial I will only cover GREEN/RED mode. You can also setup with 3 network cards, GREEN/ORANGE/RED mode – the ORANGE interface being your DMZ. You may want to make note and write down the MAC addresses of the cards at this point. It will help you identify which network card is which later on, especially if you have network cards made by the same manufacturer.

Get Smoothwall: