How to check if CPU is overclocked???
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How to check if CPU is overclocked???

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    187

    How to check if CPU is overclocked???

    Hello!
    I'm wondering is there any way to check if CPU is overclocked? I need Program? Or I must open the PC?
    Remember, all I\'m offering is the truth, nothing more.

  2. #2
    In And Above Man Black Cluster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    912
    You may want to have a look at your processor manufacturers' website for technical support, your best choice.

    http://www.amd.com/us-en/
    http://support.intel.com/
    \"The only truly secure system is one that is powered off, cast in a block of concrete and sealed in a lead-lined room with armed guards - and even then I have my doubts\".....Spaf
    Everytime I learn a new thing, I discover how ignorant I am.- ... Black Cluster

  3. #3
    AO Decepticon CXGJarrod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    2,038
    You should be able to tell in the BIOS. Restart your PC, go into the BIOS and look at the settings. If your worried about it being overclocked, choose (in the BIOS menu) to set everything back to their optimal defaults. That should set it back to speed.

    You can also check with CPU-Z from http://www.cpuid.com/ It will tell you what speed your processor is running as well as a lot of other things.

    Edit: Also, as stated above, you should check the processor manafacturers site to see what the actual speed should be for your processor.
    N00b> STFU i r teh 1337 (english: You must be mistaken, good sir or madam. I believe myself to be quite a good player. On an unrelated matter, I also apparently enjoy math.)

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    187
    Yes, Im worring that my(not mine but doesn't matter) processor is overclocked.
    Remember, all I\'m offering is the truth, nothing more.

  5. #5
    AFLAAACKKK!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,065
    Well, rule of thumb is if you only have normal cooling equipment (couple fans and heatsinks) you don't want the cpu overclocked over 10% of the default...
    I am the uber duck!!1
    Proxy Tools

  6. #6
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,191
    Hi,

    You might like to check out this tool:

    http://www.lavalys.com/products.php?lang=en

    "Everest Home Edition".................freeware

    Just click on "summary" and you will see what processor you have, and its factory rating.

    Then go down a bit to "overclock" and you will see what is actually happening.

    A lot of other information available as well...........all from the one tool
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    187
    Thanks! I will try this program Everest home edition later.
    For the moment I have a question: I heard for Easy tune! I downloaded version 5 and install it onb my PC. But it doesn't want to start. Must I have Gigabyte mobe to run it??? Mine is Asrock.
    Remember, all I\'m offering is the truth, nothing more.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •