Whats the deal with Security iGuard? - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 28

Thread: Whats the deal with Security iGuard?

  1. #11
    Hoopy Frood
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    662
    You could try booting from a CD and scanning from there. I'd recomment Barts PE. Here's a tutorial by Irongeek that should help out: http://www.antionline.com/showthread...hreadid=266178 Post here if you need more help.

    - Xierox
    "Personality is only ripe when a man has made the truth his own."

    -- Søren Kierkegaard

  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,199
    Have you tried deleting those keys yet? Im sure they have something to do with the problem.
    Everyone is going to die, I am just as good of a reason as any.

    http://think-smarter.blogspot.com

  3. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    9
    ive deleted those keys an in-numerable amount of times, they just keep coming back

  4. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,199
    you are doing all of this with system restore off, right?
    Everyone is going to die, I am just as good of a reason as any.

    http://think-smarter.blogspot.com

  5. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    9
    yes indeed...I never even use system restore...(backup harddrive is better)

  6. #16
    Hoopy Frood
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    662
    Originally posted here by SoroDudeman
    yes indeed...I never even use system restore...(backup harddrive is better)
    System restore doesn't backup your personal data. All it does it backup system settings and vital system stuff. (Like the registry, for example.) It's not a bad thing to keep on, in my personal opinion.

    - X
    "Personality is only ripe when a man has made the truth his own."

    -- Søren Kierkegaard

  7. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    9
    I know that its not a bad thing to use system restore, I simply prefer not to. Im thinking about just giving up and installing Linux

  8. #18
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,178
    You might try this:

    http://www.intermute.com/products/cwshredder.html

    Download CWshredder and run it in safe mode.

    Also, get this:

    http://www.winpatrol.com/

    It will let you check out what is started, running on your system........in BHOs etc. and lock your browser homepage.

    I take it that your Windows has all the latest patches?

    Good Luck
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  9. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    394
    Thats simple now, thx to BartPE.

    Create simple boot CD, look out that you have drivers for your networkcard in drivers part for CD.
    Boot from it and share all drivers, create first some user with PE Network configurator.
    Use another computer with updated andtivirus and antispyware programs.
    Recommeds adaware and microsoft antispyware, becouse thay "can" scan "remote" folders.
    But for the best result, write somthing like this in console
    net use z: \\IP_Of_PC_To_Scan\c
    Or simple sade map all folders to you PC you will scan from.

    In ad-aware use full scan -> it will takes some time becouse it scans first PC that it is installed on.
    In microsoft antispyware you can chouse drivers to scan.
    You can use also some online antivirus scanners that supports scan of networkdrivers.
    http://housecall.trendmicro.com/
    http://www.bitdefender.com/scan/licence.php

    Good Luck
    // too far away outside of limit

  10. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    394
    I forgot say one more very important thing.



    Efter completscan - disconnect infected PC from network.<<<<!!!!!!!


    Clear all temp files in windows and "restart" system restore by disabling and then enabling.
    Recommed to clear temp folders in console.
    Or you can use this BAT script for this or just write it console. This may not work but you can try for you own risk.
    _________________________________

    del %windir%\temp\*.* /s /f /q
    del %temp%\* /s /f /q
    del %temp%\..\"Temporary Internet Files\content.ie5"\* /s /f /q
    _________________________________

    Use last 2 string for each user.


    Copy (burn to CD or copy to usb or put them on harddrive if you are still booted from CD) updated ad-aware and spybot files to infected PC.
    Run them to scan registry and drive one more time. (you must do for each user on you PC)
    Reset you home page, recommed to use hijackthis for this.

    then reboot you PC

    Check you IE settings if they are secure.
    Then connect to internet and go directly to windows updated page and update you windows.
    When you done with it.
    Reboot you computer if windows asking.
    Then update you antivirus software and do one last full system scan. Then you can wark with you computer as normal you do.

    Good luck and I hope that I did'nt forgot something more.......... but "I Did It Agane".......
    // too far away outside of limit

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides