installing a new motherboard
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: installing a new motherboard

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    348

    installing a new motherboard

    hi not doing nothing yet but getting ready for changing dead motherboard.
    May you pls explain to me how this works.what happens when you boot first time?
    whats happened with my hard disk.do they get recognized with data and xp pro on them or i have to reformat everthing.
    any expertise wellcome
    thnks

  2. #2
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    Sounds like you've never done this before......

    Is it exactly the same board? (type/manufacturer)
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,191
    Hi mate!

    From your other post, I take it that she is fried?

    OK.............on to your question...........it will depend on your new MoBo............if you install like for like, it should run "out of the box", but if it is a different MoBo then XP will probably want to be "reactivated"............you may have to call your local MS office to do this..........it is a free and painless operation

    In theory it should be seamless and just boot from your HDD, but as Undies mentioned, you may have done all sorts of damage, so we will have to play it by ear............

    The memory with the blackened contact MUST NOT BE USED

    Keep in touch and we will talk you through it

    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,024
    you may have to call your local MS office to do this
    Local? Maybe your local INDIAN office! I don't think I've had a natural english speaker for at least 2 years... Really annoying... Especially now that they disabled online activiation for all OEM versions.
    [H]ard|OCP <--Best hardware/gaming news out there--|
    pwned.nl <--Gamers will love this one --|
    Light a man a fire and you\'ll keep him warm for a day, Light a man ON fire and you\'ll keep him warm the rest of his life.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    348
    hi
    well i dont know if is fried by as undertaker stated i have 5% chances its not
    no i havent done this excercise before i usually build pc from scratch.
    so i am planing to buy same motherboard+ same type asus a7n8x-x.
    well that burned stick is definitelly NOT going in.Well still have few 512 sticks spare.
    will start from scratch part by part.
    so if is same motherboard same model shoul not have problem with hard disk?should be all ok?
    thnks

  6. #6
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    Yep. But before booting I can recommend going into the BIOS and loading the defaults.
    After that check the settings and you should be ok.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    348
    it all well guys.
    my pc decided to come back to life after i cleaned the ram slots with can of presurissed air.
    tytytyt for your sugestions and help much appreciatted.
    but learnt few new thing.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •