Installing an OS without original CD's? (legality)

Thread: Installing an OS without original CD's? (legality)

Exclamation Installing an OS without original CD's? (legality)

I need some opinions or facts on this.

Scenario:
    Lets say I build a complete PC for a client. Put the key code sticker on the box, register it for him, optimize the WinXP OS, and give him all the CDs. Let us also say I'm a registered OEM system builder and Microsoft Partner.

Now, this client brings his computer back after 6 months saying "My teenage sons have trashed the OS, can you fix it?" After looking at it, sure enough it needs a complete reformat and reinstall.

In order to do that, my client needs to give me some CD's for reinstall.
    He searches for a couple days and says "I know you sold them to me, I'm sure I have them but I cannot put my fingers on them" (cause I'm so disorganized)."

Is it legal for me to reinstall the EXACT OS version (I sold him) using my CD's, enter his key code again and get the system back to normal?

Before you answer:

So I return the rebuilt PC and ask him if I can look around for the CDs, he says "Sure", so I look in a bookcase and low and behold, there's the XP CD sandwiched between loads of neglected papers.

Now, what is your answer?
    ZT3000
    Beta tester of "0"s and "1"s"

AOs Resident Troll
    AFAIK...yes its legal...cause media gets lost\destroyed\scratched all the time...and as long as he has that key on the box....its legal..cause the install is tied to the key.

I have contacted MS on this when disks go "missing" and ordered replacement (retail) cause I have the keys documented and registered. Charge is like 14.00

Now what I do is burn a copy ...for backup purposes only.of course ...and use the burned copy for install on the WS....that way if it gets damaged\lost..I just make a new one...and save my 14.00

MLF
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

They call me the Hunted foxyloxley's Avatar