Understanding nslookup
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Understanding nslookup

  1. #1

    Question Understanding nslookup

    I'm introducing myself to nslookup among some other tools and trying to learn the ins and outs here.

    In doing so, I've come across something odd. I ran a "nslookup all" to see what it would pull from our network, and got this:

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>nslookup all
    *** Can't find server name for address 192.168.1.x: Non-existent domain
    Server: e450.ltrkar.telcovebusiness.net
    Address: 64.66.82.6

    *** e450.ltrkar.telcovebusiness.net can't find all: Non-existent domain
    192.168.1.x is the local address of our DNS server. Shouldn't I have gotten the name of that server and information on our LAN? Or am I not understanding this tool correctly?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    469
    Its trying to lookup the domain "all", just like it "nslookup antionline.com" would lookup "antionline.com".

    For what I think you're trying to do... Type "nslookup" and then when you're inside the program type "set all" ?

  3. #3
    Jaded Network Admin nebulus200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,356
    Zenger is correct, it is assuming you are asking it to look up the name 'all' (in various incarnations depending on how a few things are set up). What you are probably wanting to do is set the querytype to all (set type=all if memory serves) and then probably an 'ls' to list the domain (most places will have that turned off for obvious reasons). Have a look here:

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/200525/EN-US/

    Kind of hard to read but should give you an idea of the possibilities.

    EDIT: this one is handy too: http://elouai.com/nslookup-reference.php
    There is only one constant, one universal, it is the only real truth: causality. Action. Reaction. Cause and effect...There is no escape from it, we are forever slaves to it. Our only hope, our only peace is to understand it, to understand the 'why'. 'Why' is what separates us from them, you from me. 'Why' is the only real social power, without it you are powerless.

    (Merovingian - Matrix Reloaded)

  4. #4
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    Originally posted here by nebulus200
    What you are probably wanting to do is set the querytype to all (set type=all if memory serves)
    set qt=any to be exact

    Or directly on the commandline nslookup -qt=any mydomain.com (works on nt and *nix)
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  5. #5
    AO French Antique News Whore
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2,126
    *** Can't find server name for address 192.168.1.x: Non-existent domain

    This error message happen when your reserve lookup zone is NOT configured in your DNS server. And then again, if your reserve lookup zone is configured, make sure your DNS server created the PRTY entry in the in-addra-arpa zone!

    If you want more help, give me a PM.
    -Simon \"SDK\"

  6. #6
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    make sure your DNS server created the PRTY entry in the in-addra-arpa zone!
    You probably mean the PTR record
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  7. #7
    AO French Antique News Whore
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2,126
    ya sorry! Damm, that not even near a mistype on my keyboard! Blame my finger!
    -Simon \"SDK\"

  8. #8
    This error message happen when your reserve lookup zone is NOT configured in your DNS server.
    Do you mean reverse lookup zone?

  9. #9
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    Yes. He means the reverse lookup zone.

    In your case that's probably 1.168.192.in-addr.arpa or 168.192.in-addr.arpa.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  10. #10
    Indeed, there's no Reverse Lookup Zone configured on our DNS server. I have no idea why. Guess it's time to check that out!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides