Hard drive problem after reinstall
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Hard drive problem after reinstall

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    11

    Hard drive problem after reinstall

    Hello all,

    I just reinstalled windows xp on my main system drive, a 110 gig WD. Before that, I backed up everything i needed on a maxtor sata 300 gig drive. After the reinstall, however, the 300 gig backup drive doesn't come up under my computer. I did not format or partition it, and I can see it under computer management. It is under healthy and active status, and the space used is accurate. The only options that are not grayed out are properties, help, and delete partition. I am not going to delete partition because i have some critical files on that drive.

    I looked up on the internet about this issue, and the only thing i found was to install my sata controller driver, but there is no unknown device in device manager. How would I go about installing that if it would help?

    Motherboard is MSI K8N Neo Platinum. I downloaded the nforce driver and installed everything but the ide driver, because it has caused problems in the past.

    If someone could please help me, they would be my hero.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    Install the sata controller driver and see if that helps. Usually it's a matter of running a setup then rebooting. It'll replace the driver during booting.

    Another thing might be a driveletter issue. Go to the DiskManagement, select your partition and choose "Change driveletter..". It might wanted to use a driveletter that was already in use.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    11
    I downloaded a sata driver from msi, but all it had in was a few .inf files. There wasn't a setup.

    I cannot access the drive letter option, it is grayed out.

  4. #4
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    Originally posted here by nsf003
    I cannot access the drive letter option, it is grayed out.
    Have you tried to do it in SafeMode?

    Edit: Forgot something important: Does the Eventlog (probably System) leave any clues? Did you encrypt the drive?
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hi,

    I see you are using computer management...................try going into control panel and add/remove hardware and take the add/troubleshoot device option. Try a manual install.

    You will need the SATA files handy.

    A word of warning you MAY (I am not saying WILL) encounter problems with mixed SATA and IDE drives...............a bit like the old problem with SCSI and IDE. Is the 110WD a SATA drive as well?

    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  6. #6
    ********** |ceWriterguy
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,608
    /me looks up from his oblivion, remembers he's seen this problem before, and asks:

    Have you made double sure the jumpers are set correctly on both of the drives?

    /me returns to oblivion.
    Even a broken watch is correct twice a day.

    Which coder said that nobody could outcode Microsoft in their own OS? Write a bit and make a fortune!

  7. #7
    In And Above Man Black Cluster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    912
    Hey,

    I do second |3lack|ce. Many people forget to set driveres to Master or slave. This is more likely to be the problem. Set the new drive to slave, you can check the drive, on how to set it to slave.

    Cheers
    \"The only truly secure system is one that is powered off, cast in a block of concrete and sealed in a lead-lined room with armed guards - and even then I have my doubts\".....Spaf
    Everytime I learn a new thing, I discover how ignorant I am.- ... Black Cluster

  8. #8
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    |3lack|ce

    Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm,

    You may have hit on something there? AFAIK all SATA drives come preconfigured as master, and don't have a jumper?

    I believe that if you are running PATA and SATA you need an adapter for the PATA and to set its jumper to master.

    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  9. #9
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    If the master/slave settings are incorrect the drive shouldn't show up in the device manager. The OP seems to have just reinstalled his OS without any changes in his hardware configuration. So I'm opting for a driver and/or drive letter issue.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    510
    Is your OS drive NTFS or FAT32?
    \"You got a mouth like an outboard motor..all the time putt putt putt\" - Foghorn Leghorn

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •