Hard drive problem after reinstall - Page 2
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: Hard drive problem after reinstall

  1. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    11
    The 110 gig is an eide. It is set to master. The sata does not have a jumper to set.

    whatthe: Both the system drive and the 300 gig are formatted ntfs.

    Thanks for the replies, I'll try it out.

  2. #12
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,178
    Hi SirDice, that sounds the most likely at this stage.

    Here is quite a good article on SATA etc:

    http://www.microcenter.com/random_ac...ess.03_04.html

    If he doesn't load the SATA drivers it isn't going to do anything?

    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  3. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    11
    How would I go about installing my sata controller? There is no entry with a yellow question mark in device manager.

    I went into add hardware and couldn't install the controller. Please, explain further.


    Thanks for the insight

  4. #14
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,178
    Try the "add new device option", also you might delete the SATA drive and reboot to see if Windows will recognise it.

    Also, what problems were you having with the MSI IDE?
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  5. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    11
    hey nihil

    i had a problem when i restarted after installing the ide driver, but i went ahead and tried to do it. It worked. Thanks for the patience, i feel like a fool.

    One thing it is doing is showing up under safely remove hardware in the taskbar. Is this some sort of raid setting? I disabled raid in the bios, i want the drive to act like a normal hard drive.


    Thanks a lot.

  6. #16
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,178
    Hi, nsf003

    Glad to hear that it is working

    I do not think that the taskbar thing is an issue. It is not a RAID setting, rather, it is Win XP. Possibly something to do with devices that need to be "dismounted" before they can be safely removed?

    It should just function as a normal machine with two drives.

    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  7. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    11
    Nihil

    I didn't know, i thought the drive shouldn't come up like a removable usb device or raid drive. I thought it was just a local drive that wasn't hot swappable. I'll try to uninstall the raid array.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides