prob in installing freebsd
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: prob in installing freebsd

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    52

    prob in installing freebsd

    i just got the latest freebsd 5.3 & started installing it.
    The system booted with the cd and a series of things appeared (including saturn "the red guy") on the screen until it got hanged up.
    I dont know what to do.
    The last two lines that appeared after which the system hanged were:

    ado: WARNING - READ_DMA interrupt was seen but timeout fired LBA = 78165297
    ado: WARNING - READ_DMA interrupt was seen but taskqueue stalled LBA = 78165297

    I've tried using ATA100 instead of the ATA66 in my motherboard, but iti too didn't helped.

    please suggest what to do.
    thanks.

  2. #2
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,401
    That's probably ad0 (with a null) not ado (with an O). Hmm. Drive itself may be at fault here. Or the controller... Not sure..
    Saturn?!? Ah. You mean Beasty

    What brand/type of motherboard do you have?
    What size is the harddisk?
    Done any overclocking?
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    27
    Yes I was having a very simmilar problem. All I did was I went and picked up a new harddisk. I got a WD 80 gb 7200 rmp with 8mb cache and it worked wonderfully. It could be because your hardisk is not supported and freeBSD for a fact supports WD. If your HD is a Maxtor you can run into many problems. FreeBSD did not like my maxtor lol.
    ~Tek~

  4. #4
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,401
    Originally posted here by Tekron-X
    If your HD is a Maxtor you can run into many problems. FreeBSD did not like my maxtor lol.
    I've had several systems running fbsd on maxtor hds. I don't believe the brand of the drive was an issue. I do consider the size of the drive to be important. It might be too big and not supported by the Mobo/BIOS. Perhaps a BIOS upgrade is able to fix that. Perhaps the controller is too old. I had an 'old' p2 board that chocked on a 80GB hd. Bios upgrade fixed it. There was a time when 200GB disk storage was only reserved for the happy few. It seems "normal" now.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,024
    I'm with dice on this one... I HIGHLY doubt the brand had ANYTHING to do with it, but problems with the actual hard drive dfeinitly could have an effect though...
    [H]ard|OCP <--Best hardware/gaming news out there--|
    pwned.nl <--Gamers will love this one --|
    Light a man a fire and you\'ll keep him warm for a day, Light a man ON fire and you\'ll keep him warm the rest of his life.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    52
    well i changed my hdd from samsung to seagate (40gb)
    still no luck !!

  7. #7
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,401
    What's the brand/model of your mainboard?
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •