Encrypting CD
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Encrypting CD

Encrypting CD

Hello Guys!
    I have a question which is definately seeking you experties, i have no knowledge about encryption, But i need to encrypt documents on the CD.
    I want to know hoe to do this sort of work.

any sort of Information will be appreciated.
    Thanx
    Harbir
    U get What U pay for.

Just Another Geek
    For what OS?
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

Since you say you want to encrypt a few documents on the CD, I have to also ask which OS are you using?

I can guess at a Windows machine though.

You CAN password protect a document in Word (you can encrypt also). Do this...

When you go to SAVE a document, click on SAVE AS..

Then, in the new window, in the upper right corner should be a TOOLS drop down menu.
    click on TOOLS then Click on SECURITY OPTIONS (this may be different with a differnet version of WORD, I have 2003 installed on this box). You can password protect the document. You can put one password to view and a different one to edit.

In Word 2003, you can also click on the ADVANCED button and choose differnt type of encryption and key lengths.

NOTE: if someone can view, but not edit, they may be able to copy/paste into a different document.

good luck.

~Halv

\"The only truly secure system is one that is powered off, cast in a block of concrete and sealed in a lead-lined room with armed guards - and even then I have my doubts\".....Spaf
    Everytime I learn a new thing, I discover how ignorant I am.- ... Black Cluster

Password protect word documents! hah thats laughable, of course you can but its weak so i wouldnt bother

try pgp or the gnu version gpg -

http://www.gnupg.org/(en)/download/index.html

its free to download and good for exchanging data like I assume you are going to with your CD??

OS isnt important with gpg becuase theres ports to most OS's

i2c