Communications Port missing
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Communications Port missing

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    244

    Communications Port missing

    I installed winnt after formatting my box and when trying to install the modem driver it asked me to select a port but there were none on the list box but my modem works fine in WinMe .What am i supposed to do to make the port available ?????
    The people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world are the ones that do.


    http://www.AntiOnline.com/sig.php?imageid=767

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    510
    Did you double check the BIOS to make sure they were enabled?
    \"You got a mouth like an outboard motor..all the time putt putt putt\" - Foghorn Leghorn

  3. #3
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    Winnt?? NT 4.0, W2K or XP???

    NT is not a plug and play OS...so it is a little different with your modem setup.

    2k and XP are VERY fussy about modems...and hardware.

    What did you install as an OS???

    What kind of modem is it???

    Does it have jumpers on it to set resources??

    Did you check the vendors site to see if they have drivers for whatever OS you installed??

    MLF
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    244
    I checked the Bios and it was enabled

    The os is Win 2k sorry and it is an Conexant 56k PCI Modem
    D-Link 560is
    I downloaded the driver files from the vendors site and it is just that the ports are missing when it is asking me to select them
    The people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world are the ones that do.


    http://www.AntiOnline.com/sig.php?imageid=767

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    510
    Do you have any com ports showing in Device Manager?

    Do you have anything connected to or using com ports?
    \"You got a mouth like an outboard motor..all the time putt putt putt\" - Foghorn Leghorn

  6. #6
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    Either the modem isn't correcly identified by the driver (check the Device Manager for any yellow ! marks) or you've downloaded modem drivers for an external modem.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,191
    it is an Conexant 56k PCI Modem D-Link 560is
    Those are two different modems, which one are you trying to install?

    I think that the D-Link requires that you have PCMIA support.

    Windows 2000 should spot the D-Link and automatically install it to Com3.
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    244
    My modem is D-Link 560is but it's drivers from the dlink site identifies it as Conexant 56k Pci modem but the drivers suit in Win98 and Win ME
    The people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world are the ones that do.


    http://www.AntiOnline.com/sig.php?imageid=767

  9. #9
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,191
    My modem is D-Link 560is but it's drivers from the dlink site identifies it as Conexant 56k Pci modem but the drivers suit in Win98 and Win ME
    Ah!, it sounds as if you are trying to use generic Win9x/ME drivers in a Win2K environment, that almost certainly won't work. I will have a look for you a bit later and see what I can find. In my experience you would stand a better chance with the NT4.0 drivers (Win2K is actually NT5.0 )

    Am I right in thinking that this is an internal modem?

    Cheers
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    244
    yeah it is an internal modem
    The people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world are the ones that do.


    http://www.AntiOnline.com/sig.php?imageid=767

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides