Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How to develop a scanner/disinfector?

How to develop a scanner/disinfector?

Hello gang,
    I must say this is a very resourceful place that I'm glad to have found!
    I'm a newbie to security/antivirus area(aside from being able to use one of course) and as a school project I need to create a program that will disinfect one specific virus using a simple pattern matching technique. I ran into the open source ClamAV and have been reading about how to create signature files and add it to its db and it doesn't seem too bad even for a newbie like myself.
    But what I would like to be able to do is develop a standalone utility that will scan for a specific virus (just one strand for simplicity) and disinfect/remove it. There are tons of these type of utilities out there but I couldn't find any decent tutorial/documentation that could help me. I would appreciate any references or advises you may throw at me.

Thanks in advance!
    Nick

well first of all welcome to AO
    you say that you need to create a removal tool for an spesific virus, well what i recomend is that you find the virus that youre intrested in working with, and learn the infection methods that the virus use among other information like

*Registry keys that the virus changes/create/delete
    *if the virus creates copies of it self and were are they hidden
    *Start up method
    *Payload
    *if the payload damage or replace system files , witch are they

I did a similar project in HS i made a VBS file that changed the IE home page, displayed a message avery time the computer was turn on. made copies of it self in several folders with diferent names etc. And also made another VBS files that undo everything delete the registry entrys the copies of the file And i wrote a report that explained both files and what disected and explained the code aswell. Im a little bit buzz right now. if you need help and think that i can help you send me a message.