Apache, PHP and mySQL - Page 2
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: Apache, PHP and mySQL

  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    469
    I suggest logging into mysql at the command prompt and do the following.

    use mysql;
    select * from user where User='test1user';
    select * from db where User='test1user';

    This will show you what priviledges that user currently has. Also, if you see the password there in clear text, that is probably your problem. If that is the case do this.

    SET PASSWORD FOR test1user@localhost=PASSWORD('somepassword');

  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    187
    NO, nop, no, no! I give up! That is impossible! That makes more than 14 days I'm trying to get this **** running and it is impossible.
    I created several databases and the phpBB can't connect to any of it. I have no idea why.
    14 days ago when I tryed it first time everything was running. Then I deleted the database ans since then I can't get it running again. What is the matter?
    I made a format to all the hard disk(perhaps it will solve the problem) I installed Apache, PHP, mySQL and I have still the same error. Why?
    I don't know what to do anymore. I was trying so much things and nothing is running. That is realy a pity.
    Remember, all I\'m offering is the truth, nothing more.

  3. #13
    Member Christina's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    63
    Give this a try, it goes through everything from beginning to end and leaves out a lot of guesswork:

    http://www.phpbb.com/kb/article.php?article_id=138

    There are only two kinds of programming languages: those people always bitch about and those nobody uses.


  4. #14
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    Danielsd: I gave you the answer a couple of posts ago. Look closely at the entries I quoted bold. The database name configured in phpBB must have the same name as the database created in mySQL.

    You seem to have created a database in MySQL called phpBB2. But on the phpBB installpage you have configured it to use a database called test1. That's not going to work.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    187
    Today I was trying it again.
    Look at that:
    http://dev.mysql.com/doc/mysql/en/old-client.html

    When I did the following thing:
    mysql> SET PASSWORD FOR
    -> 'some_user'@'some_host' = OLD_PASSWORD('newpwd');
    And it installed it with out any problem. Damn, it was so easy and lost so much time
    Thank, thank, thank you all for the help!
    Remember, all I\'m offering is the truth, nothing more.

  6. #16
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    Techies (including me) tend to overlook the most obvious and simple

    Glad to hear you finaly got it working
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •