win2000-where do i find rundll.exe

Thread: win2000-where do i find rundll.exe

win2000-where do i find rundll.exe

i am a newbie and was going through Ankit fadia's book on ethical hacking when i came accross rundll.exe. acc. to book rundll.exe shud give access to shutting down comp...however my comp cudnt search for this file either in my windows r winnt folder...wat shud i do

ne suggestions on this will be gratefully accepted....thank u

Again .... gives you all the answers (almost anyway) you need -->

rundll.exe is a Windows System process belonging to the Windows 95, 98 and ME range of Microsoft Windows products. This is an important system process and should not be terminated. NOTE: rundll.exe can also be the LOXOSCAM and Backdoor.SchoolBus.B trojans depending on Operating System and file path; this is always a virus on Windows XP and 2000 operating systems however. Both are a backdoor Trojan that allow hackers to gain access to the computer. These program is a registered security risk and should be removed immediately. If found on your system make sure that you have downloaded the latest update for your antivirus application. Please consult the file path to distinguish between this and the system process."

Found it on this website :

Took me 2 seconds.

Back when I was a boy, we carved our own IC's out of wood.

The same functionality (loading a specific dll and run a certain function,
    while passing a few parameters) still is available on NT, 2kx, XP systems,
    however the file name changed from rundll.exe to rundll32.exe[1], maybe
    for the reason that nowadays, standard systems, and in particular
    memory addressing, are 32bit...

I am concerned about those recent flood of posts (not only here) like
    was going through Ankit fadia's book [replace by a book in this style of your choice],
    which simply reflects the success of selling such books to the intended
    target group. Their goal is not to educate those people and sensitise