repair window instalation xp pro
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: repair window instalation xp pro

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    349

    repair window instalation xp pro

    hi and ty for quick response,
    well my pc has decided to continuously reboot.
    i tried to use last good known configuration it still keeep rebooting.
    went in bios to check if my hard disk is there(have 2)everything look find.
    loaded defolt-keep rebootin.
    tried to enter in safe mode keep rebooting.
    so last option went to repair instalation.
    during booting proces everything is normal (normal beep and normal memory test and just starts again and again.
    when started instalation(booted from cd) option to recover system(didnt have saved on floppy disk}
    so instalation proces and option to repair so i did.
    everything was fine(was scared that i wont be able to boot any more (lose all data).everything goes to normal.
    when boots my pc still goes to boot from cd even i disable that option in bios,but than starts and shows me 2 options:
    profile1 and gamin profile(which i created earlier)
    doesnt matter which one i do it takes ages to takes to welcome screen
    why???
    checked all startup items through msconfig and doing gaming profile loads only 7 processes.
    so why it takes so long??
    done scf /scannnow and its all ok there\
    what are you suggesting.
    didnt install nothig on system( i unnistalled sygate firewall-so thats only thing which could trigger it((guess)
    i couldnt go to restore mode.
    i still cant boot in safe mode???how come??
    sry writing messy if you dont understand pls ask me specific qustions.
    asus mobo
    512 kigston 400
    2 hard disks 80g
    xp pro
    thnks

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,130
    just to clarify:
    when you press "F8" during boot to enter on "safe mode", your computer doesnt enter in "safe mode" but instead just reboot?

    Did you take a look on event viewer (Administrative tasks)?
    Meu sítio

    FORMAT C: Yes ...Yes??? ...Nooooo!!! ^C ^C ^C ^C ^C
    If I die before I sleep, I pray the Lord my soul to encrypt.
    If I die before I wake, I pray the Lord my soul to brake.

  3. #3
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    What SP level of XP are you at?

    If it is SP2 have you got the firewall enabled?

    Have you connected to the internet without a firewall?

    Why did you uninstal Sygate?

    What anti-virus do you have?

    What firewall are you running now?

  4. #4
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    Some other things to consider...as I had this issue recently with a W2k machine

    Can you boot into safe mode...no networking??

    May have something to do with this

    http://www.antionline.com/showthread...r=1#post835969

    Link to issue with MS Antispyware..may be able to use the same procedure...to repair ???

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/892350

    MLF
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    349
    huh nihil
    sry i could see that comming
    have xp pro sp2
    dont have xp firewall enabled
    yes i have but i am on adsl nettcom 1300 4 port router/modem (lan connection)
    uninstaled sygate because going to lan party and olways have trouble o configure and conect there because of firewall
    have norton antivirus 2004
    no firewall at the moment(lan party on saturday)
    casapo
    ehen press f8 i get screen with all options and whateever i pick there(safe mode or last known configuration or whatever its reboots)
    no more as i explain that i did repair installation but takes ages to get to welcome screen

  6. #6
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    So its not rebooting anymore???

    no more as i explain that i did repair installation but takes ages to get to welcome screen

    MLF
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    349
    morgan,
    its not rebooting i did repair reinstalation.
    but original question:
    takes ages to come to welcome screen.toooooooooooooo long.
    in a case i want to boot in safe mode(for any reason system can not do it -when press f8 and select safe mode it reboots and go again normal.

  8. #8
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    So ....have you reapplied all patches??

    Sometimes...you just have to reinstall and start from scratch....as if you apply all your patches and things...and it is still mucked up, unstable,....you could fight with it for weeks...and it alot easier to have a clean install.

    I reinstall often....and restore the data.

    Keeps things clean and stable...I dont have the time to fight with an instable install....also helps me determine if it is a hardware issue. If I have the same problems with a clean install..its hardware.

    although I have been able to fix ALOT of malware infections...thanks to the things I have learned on this site..

    MLF
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

  9. #9
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    OK,

    I would enable the firewall and run Trend Micro's (PC-cillin) "Housecall"

    Also AdAware SE and SpyBot S&D (after updating them)

    Then open SpyBot in "advanced" mode and use the tools to see what it thinks you have running, and what it starts up.

    After that, if you still have a problem, I would probably consider a fresh install..............it depends on how "painful" that might be..............remember you need a firewall running before getting the patches again.

    good luck

    Like Morgana~ I do not have time to mess around with other people's machines (they wouldn't pay for it anyway )

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    349
    downloaded patches updates sp2 and its all looking ok now

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •