Distributed COM Services
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Distributed COM Services

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    2

    Distributed COM Services

    Since i installed a firewall i keep getting this warning message:
    An application named Distributed COM Services (file name RPCSS.EXE) has been blocked from accessing the network.
    The firewall log says:
    Application Hijacking has been detected
    The application: C:\Programas\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashServ.exe try to launch another application: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RPCSS.EXE to go to remote host ...
    What do i do? Is it normal? Do i block it / unblock it?
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Senior Member IKnowNot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    792
    Uh, er, Do you have Avast antivirus software running on your machine?

    If not, you may have a problem.
    " And maddest of all, to see life as it is and not as it should be" --Miguel Cervantes

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    2
    Yes i have
    So, from your answer, i suppose its ok
    i'll unblock it.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    1,675
    ET phone home.

    rpcss - rpcss.exe - Process Information

    Process File: rpcss or rpcss.exe
    Process Name: Remote Procedure Call Services

    Description:

    rpcss.exe is an executable of Microsoft Windows Operating System. It is reponsible for Remote Procedure Call services on the local machine. These are public services available to the local network. This program is important for the stable and secure running of your computer and should not be terminated.
    Just cruise over to the MS site and you can find out more.

    cheers
    Connection refused, try again later.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    557
    Hi

    I have to admit that I do not know Avast in detail,
    but it looks very strange to me, that it calls RpcSs
    to connect to somewhere. So I checked the official
    webpage for informations[1]:

    The components of avast! 4 that should be allowed to connect:
    avast.setup
    avastXX.setup (where "XX" are some numbers)
    aswUpdSv.exe
    ashWebSv.exe

    On the list, you also find a list of IP numbers, the components
    try to connect to.

    Nothing was mentioned about RpcSs etc. What is the IP it
    wants to connect to? Who does it belong to? Alwil? If
    nobody confirms that this is the usual behaviour, I would
    try to contact Alwil, in particular, if the IP does not belong
    to that company, or try to clean your computer (let us discuss
    that afterwards )

    Note: I have assumed, that you run avast! 4 Home Edition
    or avast! 4 Professional Edition.

    Cheers.


    [1] http://www.avast.com/eng/updates2.html#idt_1366
    If the only tool you have is a hammer, you tend to see every problem as a nail.
    (Abraham Maslow, Psychologist, 1908-70)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides