Thread: Help understanding NetBIOS and DNS

Help understanding NetBIOS and DNS

Hello all

I am new to Anti Online and I am kind of new at computer networking so bare with me. I just started studying NetBIOS and DNS and I was wondering if anyone could explain to me the difference between the two.
    Thanks

Netbios and DNS

What is DNS?

DNS (Domain Name System), is the service which translates between Internet names and Internet addresses.

Internet names are the names which we use to refer to hosts on the Internet, such as www.some-address.com and www.antionline.com.

Internet addresses are the numbers which routers use to move traffic across the Internet, such as 216.17.138.115 and 216.136.204.117.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    NetBIOS

An application programming interface (API) that can be used by programs on a local area network (LAN). NetBIOS provides programs with a uniform set of commands for requesting the lower-level services required to manage names, conduct sessions, and send datagrams between nodes on a network.

Or to put simply it's local file sharing between networked computers.

I hope this is what you were looking for.

Another set of definitions

NetBIOS

Network Basic Input/Output System is a program that allows applications on different computers to communicate within a local area network. It was created by IBM for its early PC Network, later adopted by Novell and Microsoft. NetBIOS is used in Ethernet, token ring and Windows NT networks. It does not support a routing mechanism, so applications communicating on a wide area network must use another "transport mechanism" (such as TCP/IP) rather than, or in addition, to NetBIOS.

DNS