Disabling Microsoft help
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Disabling Microsoft help

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    26

    Disabling Microsoft help

    Does anyone know of a way to disable access to Microsoft help? I am trying to build a secure system and I know that it can be used to access control panels that have been disabled in some other way. Any help is appreciated.

  2. #2
    In And Above Man Black Cluster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    912

    Re: Disabling Microsoft help

    Originally posted here by black_coder
    I know that it can be used to access control panels that have been disabled in some other way.
    VERY WRONG!
    Even if a user gained access to the control panel, the user won't be having sufficient privileges to manipulate system configuration ... {assuming that you assigned usual restricted user account..}

    Are you trying to build your own secured system .... like letting someone work under admin account , but yet not able to gain access to admin tools ....
    \"The only truly secure system is one that is powered off, cast in a block of concrete and sealed in a lead-lined room with armed guards - and even then I have my doubts\".....Spaf
    Everytime I learn a new thing, I discover how ignorant I am.- ... Black Cluster

  3. #3
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Well, I am not sure what operating system you are using but you used to be able to rename or delete the help folder. Otherwise you can remove or rename the .hlp files.

    It used to be fairly common back in the days of small hard drives, if you knew your OS and Apps.


  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    26
    What I am talking about is even when I have disabled the control panel through the registry, I can still get into some of the panels, such as services, and edit the properties, even without an admin account.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Maestr0's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    604
    You could change permssions/remove the file asscociation type for .chm's in HKCR.

    -Maestr0
    \"If computers are to become smart enough to design their own successors, initiating a process that will lead to God-like omniscience after a number of ever swifter passages from one generation of computers to the next, someone is going to have to write the software that gets the process going, and humans have given absolutely no evidence of being able to write such software.\" -Jaron Lanier

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    26
    Thanks everyone, I just couldn't seem to get my mind around this one. Again, thanks for all of your help. You guys are great!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •