Roadblocks in Learning IT

Thread: Roadblocks in Learning IT

Roadblocks in Learning IT

Being new, naturally I always have many, many questions. And naturally, I belong to several forums. There is always a newbie section/forum (some kinder to new people than others) and there are always newbies who ask the common "how do I hack hotmail/yahoo/aol" and etc. and get flamed. And on some occasions, people who ask questions which I think are valid but they still get flamed. One thing I have found in the IT world, is that often, before finding an answer, you have to figure out the question. Now I'm a research analyst by trade, and not to sound rude, but I know I'm a very capable analyst. What I don't know, I know where to go and find it. And my studies are pretty straight forward. But when it comes to technology, there are a million different avenues to take (depending on what area - programming/web design/hardware etc). I find that the hardest part of my learning computer/media technology is, 3/4 of the time, I'm not even sure what my question is. And although there are many forums and support pages, how can I research if I don't know what exactly I'm looking for? It becomes very difficult when you don't what the problem COULD be, but yet you try to google anyway. This is often times very frustrating and I was wondering if anybody ever feels the same way or felt the same way when they began to learn. Just a little rant and rave.
    Go Spurs Go!
    One Team, One Goal

Frustrated Mad Scientist
    http://www.google.co.uk/search?sourc...in+Learning+IT

;-)

Sorry couldn't resist.
    I think most of the flames are just the result of many posts by people who simple haven't bothered to try to look for any information or who haven't thought about their question properly.

Alternatively you could have just chosen forums where the resident population enjoys burning newbies and you might need to move on.