Question about the amount of RAM
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Question about the amount of RAM

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    534

    Question about the amount of RAM

    Is there a point where amount of memory becomes redundant or even slows down a processor? I have a PIII 1GHz that takes 133MHz SDRAM. This weekend I have an opportunity to get RAM for free. The MB can actually be loaded up w/ up to 1Gig of RAM. Question is: Can this slow down my computer? I know it sounds weird but Id think, with that much RAM, the CPU will have hard time managing.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    510
    Which OS do you have? 98 doesn't run that well past 512MB. XP and 2k will be fine.

    http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/system...AE/PAEmem.mspx

    Not sure on the various linux versions.


    \"You got a mouth like an outboard motor..all the time putt putt putt\" - Foghorn Leghorn

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    534
    i have 2000 all patched up

    i read the paper from M$ in your post. i just want to clarify that i am aware that it will "support" up to 4gigs but will that much memory slow things down???

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,024
    I highly doubt it would slow it down... Not with 2k at any rate... I know people with 2 GB of ram running 2k with no speed problems cept it being toofast :P
    [H]ard|OCP <--Best hardware/gaming news out there--|
    pwned.nl <--Gamers will love this one --|
    Light a man a fire and you\'ll keep him warm for a day, Light a man ON fire and you\'ll keep him warm the rest of his life.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    510
    I would think that is one of the things that the system board developers deal with when they are in the planning stage, ie the limitations of the board.
    \"You got a mouth like an outboard motor..all the time putt putt putt\" - Foghorn Leghorn

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    534
    will i still need to have "virtual memory" aka swap file and what should it be set to if i have 1gig of RAM and PIII

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,024
    Depends on how much hard drive space you have... If you've got a good amount hard drive space, devote some to VM... It can only help your speed.
    [H]ard|OCP <--Best hardware/gaming news out there--|
    pwned.nl <--Gamers will love this one --|
    Light a man a fire and you\'ll keep him warm for a day, Light a man ON fire and you\'ll keep him warm the rest of his life.

  8. #8
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,191
    unhappy

    1. Increasing the amount of RAM will not slow your computer. Whether you will notice much difference depends on what you use the machine for. If you run photo manipulation, CAD and some games you will notice an improvement beyond 512Mb. If you just do basic tasks you quite probably will not. It is a law of diminishing returns.

    2. There is no "magic formula" for the "page file". I would recommend that you have one, but logically the more physical memory you have the less virtual memory you need. I would let Windows manage it and only change it if you encounter out of memory problems.

    Cheers

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    47
    Originally posted here by nihil
    unhappy

    1. Increasing the amount of RAM will not slow your computer. Whether you will notice much difference depends on what you use the machine for. If you run photo manipulation, CAD and some games you will notice an improvement beyond 512Mb. If you just do basic tasks you quite probably will not. It is a law of diminishing returns.

    2. There is no "magic formula" for the "page file". I would recommend that you have one, but logically the more physical memory you have the less virtual memory you need. I would let Windows manage it and only change it if you encounter out of memory problems.

    Cheers
    What if it is a Linux/Unix box, what would you recommend creating?

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,024
    Depends on hard drive size and what the box is used for... If it's a server with a ton of space I would make a page file about 15% of the free space...
    [H]ard|OCP <--Best hardware/gaming news out there--|
    pwned.nl <--Gamers will love this one --|
    Light a man a fire and you\'ll keep him warm for a day, Light a man ON fire and you\'ll keep him warm the rest of his life.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •