The time has come, I need your help...
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: The time has come, I need your help...

AFLAAACKKK!!

The time has come, I need your help...

Last night I went to bad leaving my moms computer on overnight, which is nothing new, I leave always leave it on overnight. Well, last night, while everyone was sleeping the power temporarily wen't out, resetting our clocks and stuff. This is also nothing new, it has happened numerous times. Well After resetting my clocks and stuff I wen't to my mothers computer and tried turning it on, it wouldn't turn on. Immediatly I considered the power supply wen't bad after the power outage. I never really looked at my mom's computer before, my step dad bought it (it's an HP) and installed it before he passed away. So this is my first time looking at it from a troubleshooting point of view.

As I took the computer out from underneath the desk, I looked behind the computer where the power supply is and saw a blinking green light on the PSU. The computer was still plugged into the surge protector so I'm guessing that means it is receiving power. So a horrifying thought came into mind, maybe it's the motherboard! Or worse, maybe a number of things are damaged. But as for now, I'm trying to figure out why it won't turn on, and my 2 thoughts are the PSU or the mobo.

What do you guys think? The only thing stopping me from trying another PSU is the green blinking light. So I want to be sure before I go through the hastle because I opened the case up and it looks like I'll have to take half the components out to exchange PSU's (Damn HP!). I unfortunatly don't have a voltimeter handy. And I hope it's not the mobo, and my mom is flipping out because she can't afford a new computer, though If it's the mobo i'll end up buying the a new mobo.