START UP MENU MSCONFIG UTILITY for XP-HOME

Thread: START UP MENU MSCONFIG UTILITY for XP-HOME

START UP MENU MSCONFIG UTILITY for XP-HOME

I was wondering what services and stuff I can TURN off in my MSCONFIG UTILITY, for my single machine running XP-HOME ?

I found stuff in there I had NO IDEA was running?
    for example:

"Background Intelligent Transfer Service" this one seems a little intimidating what is it?

and bunch more?

I turned of my DCOM but there is still a check by it, and others things evening though it says NOT RUNNING on some?

I need some direction in this area anyone familiar with this?
    I dont need

ALG is running I think this is a nessarcy file too, but wondering why it is related to port 1026 and PID 2044,but I think this is dynamically assigned each time it runs...I am still learning ...not usre?

helpful comments appreciated

still trying to get to the bottom of port 1026 listening but I pretty sure it is my SONIC

(auto update manager program which I have NO control over,unless i delete it or hopefully turn it off in start up menu)
    Share on Google+

You really shouldn't disable services through the msconfig utility.

You should use the services.msc (start, run, services.msc, ok) and set them to auto/manual/disable depending on the service.

BITS is used by Windows Update for bandwidth management. When your connection is idle or plenty of bandwidth is available, Windows Update will download updates. I beleive that the service is required for the newer versions of Windows Updates.

It basically helps dial up users so when they load a page or download a file... their connection isn't really really slow because of windows updates downloading. When the user stops to read the page or execute their file that they downloaded, etc. BITS will start the windows update download again.
    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsserv...view/bits.mspx

For more info about services... check the following site. I find the second link more useful...