Thread: getting started, just a few questions

getting started, just a few questions

Hello,

I'm a student, on a shared wireless network in my apartment complex. I have a few security programs installed currently.

Zonealarm free, current version
    McAfee Antivirus, updated
    Spybot S&D 1.4
    GFI Languard 6.0(JUST installed this, messing around with it)

I guess my biggest concern is, with my degree I'll be making material for a demo reel, and I don't want my work stolen and used by someone else. What security programs would be good in addition/in place of my current configuration? I basically want it so I can go to sleep at night knowing that I don't have someone stealing information from an open port.

Also, is there a program that tells you what all the running processes are and what uses them? I'd like to cut down the amount of crap that's running in the background, especially the stuff that I don't know what it's there for.

well that's all I can think of for right now.
    Thanks in advance,

Abaddon
    \"I drank what?\" - Socrates

Well aside from the security programs you already have you could consider purchasing an external hard drive and just unplugging it when you are not working on the project and keeping it in a safe place, also disconnect from the network at night.

Other than that make sure all your default shares are turned off and youcan also password protect your files in windows XP.

The mos obvious way to tell what processes are runing would be task manager although some malcious programs do hide as svchost and some completly do not show up. there are other alternatives I just cant think of any off the top of my head (sorry long day)
    Everyone is going to die, I am just as good of a reason as any.

http://think-smarter.blogspot.com

For some of the malicious processes, check here: http://www.liutilities.com/products/...rocesslibrary/. It's not too bad.