Thread: Good quality starting resources?

Good quality starting resources?

Howdy all,

I'm just getting back into security and computers in general as a hobby, (Back in highschool I spent some time being the assistant to our network admin, and I run a linux system, so I'm not a complete newbie, just havent kept up with anything ) and I was wondering what some good resources for learning the ins and outs of security might be (Books, web sites, etc). I'd prefer things that are relatively static and organized tutorial or book style so I can delve in without having to jump around forums or IRC, as my style of learning is generally just diving in, and in particular I'm looking at *nix and XP security.

Check out the tutorials section there is some very good stuff in there

also

http://www.sans.org/rr/

the sans reading room.

have fun. Im sure others will chime in with more. And book recomedations.
    Since the beginning of time, Man has searched for the answers to the big questions: \'How did we get here?\' \'Is there life after death?\' \'Are we alone?\' But today, in this very theatre, you will be asked to answer the biggest question of them all...WHO LIVES IN A PINEAPPLE UNDER THE SEA?

AO Senior Cow-beller
    I'd highly suggest you consider a Security+ certification. It's the CompTIA security certification; don't confuse it with A+ or Server+, this is not as simple as it looks. You have to have the technical background, and a solid foundation in the basic's of InfoSec.

But even if you don't take the cert, going over the study materials (many free ones are available online) and knowing them thoroughly will help you get a grasp on the many diverse subjects in the Security industry.

Best of luck, and welcome to AO!

/* Edit: Added some specific book titles for reference */

Good books to keep in the stable:

Network Security Assessment
    By Chris McNab
    Publisher: O'Reilly
    ISBN: 0-596-00611-X