Broken My RAM and seems to have burnt out my motherboard.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Broken My RAM and seems to have burnt out my motherboard.

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    1

    Broken My RAM and seems to have burnt out my motherboard.

    I tried to install some RAM today (2 sticks of 512 DDR) somehow, while rushing I managed to put them in backwards - yet the clips still came down easily. I restarted my computer and smelt burning so instantly turned it back off.

    I checked and saw my stupid mistake and put them in the right way. But now when I try to turn my computer on it just does 1 long beep, at about 5second intervals, and the monitor doesn't register/turn on.

    I have an 1.4AMD, processor, and am not sure which motherboard it is.

    I am just about to buy another motherboard as I suspect that this is the easiest way to fix the problem, but is there anything I have have missed that could sort the problem.


    I have also tried my old ram (which wasn't in at all at the time of the backwards incident, and still no joy in it working, just the same error noise and lack of monitor).


    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    If you have tried known working RAM and get the same result you have certainly damaged your MoBo. If you have a memory slot that was not occupied you might try putting one of the old sticks in to see if there is any life left in the MoBo.

    In all probability you have damaged the new RAM as well, you could test it first, but to be honest with you I wouldn't trust it after what has happened.

    Sorry I cannot give you any good news.

    EDIT: Here is some info on BIOS beeps:

    http://www.cybertechhelp.com/html/tu...rial.php/id/49

  3. #3
    They call me the Hunted foxyloxley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    3rd Rock from Sun
    Posts
    2,528
    rushing kills more MoBo's than anything else ............

    there is NEVER enough time to do the job properly.
    BUT:
    There is ALWAYS time to do it again
    Learn from this
    Set yourself a time when you can apply yourself to the job at hand
    Do not get sidetracked
    Do not rush


    Your shopping basket will HAVE to include RAM AND MoBo
    You KNOW it makes sense

    luck to you

    Oh !
    And welcome to AO

    HELL of a first post
    55 - I'm fiftyfeckinfive and STILL no wiser,
    OLDER yes
    Beware of Geeks bearing GIF's
    come and waste the day :P at The Taz Zone

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    1,675
    Welcome to AO,

    You must have some hercules hands! Gotta ask, how on earth were you able to put them in backwards with them being slotted to prevent that? Just trying to lighten it up abit. Unfortunately it does sound like some money will be spent on a Main Board and memory. It you have a magnifying glass you can check out the ram and the mobo much closer and should be able to see where it went to toast.

    Good luck

    ~cheers~
    Connection refused, try again later.

  5. #5
    The Doctor Und3ertak3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    2,743
    had a mate who had a bad habit of doing that.. has a tropy rack with some 10 mobo's and 7 CPUs.. he's ditched the ram modules, video cards, and the PSU's..
    With the correct approach you can even get a 20 Pin PSU Plug in the wrong way.. .. geeze dont they go off (not as bad as his GF)

    Ahhh Yes.. Hey Des.. come back to town.. I miss the hardware sales to you.. ahhhh I mean.. we need a few more serious gamers of the Sat nite games..
    "Consumer technology now exceeds the average persons ability to comprehend how to use it..give up hope of them being able to understand how it works." - Me http://www.cybercrypt.co.nr

  6. #6
    Old ancient one vanman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Freestate,South Africa
    Posts
    570
    Greetings all,

    I think your fuses in side the power supply went as well since nothing else accept the beep codes come on..If i remember correctly some have 2 fuses..one controlling the 5v circuit and the other the 12v circuit Please correct me if i am wrong but anyway..It might be wise to test your add on cards like screencard,modem,lan etc on some old mobo if you can get someone who is brave enough to grant you that and doesn,t worry about losing it if something does go wrong..Reason being:They might be damaged by the short circuit and damage your new mobo so ..just my 2 cents
    Practise what you preach.

  7. #7
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    C'mon Undies mate!

    Less of the professional secrecy

    Just what weight of hammer would you recommend that we use?


  8. #8
    ********** |ceWriterguy
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,608
    15lb sledge works wonders.
    Even a broken watch is correct twice a day.

    Which coder said that nobody could outcode Microsoft in their own OS? Write a bit and make a fortune!

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    1,675
    Seems I prefer the float test.
    Connection refused, try again later.

  10. #10
    They call me the Hunted foxyloxley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    3rd Rock from Sun
    Posts
    2,528
    Seems I prefer the float test.
    I KNOW I'll regret asking ............ BUT :

    What IS the float test ...................... ?
    55 - I'm fiftyfeckinfive and STILL no wiser,
    OLDER yes
    Beware of Geeks bearing GIF's
    come and waste the day :P at The Taz Zone

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •