Computer slows down
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Computer slows down

Angry Computer slows down

Alright this isnt exactly security related, but i am getting very annoyed at how my computer sometimes runs really slowly. I am a total newb when it comes to computers, so i was hoping someone could help me out here. I have checked for spyware and nothing has shown up. I have norton 05 anti virus, and no problems there either. however when i hope up a couple programs (btw i am running windows xp pro), the computer seems to slow down significantly, and it is hard to move my mouse. that being said, i am running hyperthreaded xeons 2.0gigs so i am suppose to have 4 processors in this box. definetly doesnt feel like it. I checked the task manager to see what my cpu usage is like and most of the time i am at around 1 percent. however when i open up a game like counter strike, and leave aim going or an ie box, all hell breaks loose. I think windows does an extremely poor job at spreading out processes over several processors. It seems that my processor 00 is used all the time and 02 or 03 never gets touched which is annoying for me. I was wondering if anyone has any advice or maybe could suggest a program which would allow me to manually choose which processors handle which processes. or maybe this is a really stupid question and someone can just tell me to stfu I am also running 54 processes just normally everytime i turn on my comp which seems extremely high.
    Support your right to arm bears.

^^This was the first video game which i played on an old win3.1 box

I need to look it up, but I belive thers a thing called processoraffinity in windows that allows you to specify which CPU's to use.

Let me do some digging and see what I can find.

Found something

Small program lets you set which processor a program can run on.

http://www.beyondlogic.org/solutions...rocessutil.htm
    =

Just Another Geek