CPU Shutdown
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: CPU Shutdown

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    277

    CPU Shutdown

    im new at work so i have the newbie computer

    every once in a while it will blink on me, displaying a blue screen saying something about the ntoskrnl.exe and "beginning physical memory dump".

    There is another message that comes up sometimes too, but i cant remember it. Maybe if I wait, my computer will blink again and I will repost with that one.

    In the meantime, is there any hope for my machine?
    Difficult takes a day, Impossible takes a week~Kthln01!

  2. #2
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    Blue Screens are usually bad drivers, or hardware issues.

    That paticular error..you may need a SP??

    Whats the OS and hardware are we talking about.....I know its windows...but what version

    MLF
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    277
    dont know what an sp is but

    windows 2000 professional is the os
    the cpu is an sgi(silicon graphics) 230 (if that helps)
    Difficult takes a day, Impossible takes a week~Kthln01!

  4. #4
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    Some things to check..


    Are there any errors in the event log??

    put your hand to the fan...is the air coming from the computer hot??? (overheating issue?)

    Start>run type "winver" without the quotes..this will tell you the SP level

    How much memory in the machine...?

    How much space on the harddrive...windows likes to have 20% free

    Sorry not familiar with that hardware...although I have heard of it.

    Is it random or when you go to do something?

    MLF
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    277
    its random and whenever i move the cpu.

    winver brought up:

    version 5.0
    build 2195 service pack 4
    523696 kb available

    not running hot

    oh yeah, that reminds me! there is a button saying some error occurs in the event log, everytime i log on.

    this computer is a wreck!
    Difficult takes a day, Impossible takes a week~Kthln01!

  6. #6
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    Right click my computer>manage>event logs and see whats there...

    Sounds like a hardware\driver conflict

    What do the IT dept think??

    Get the latest drivers for your system...and see if that helps.

    Wondering if it was fresh install when they gave it to you or if you have inherited someone elses "Sh*t"

    MLF
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    277
    they told me that i inherited this problem

    right as i saw your new reply it shut down on me
    when i logged back on it said:

    nvsvc32.exe has generated errors and will be closed by Windows. You will need to restart the program. An error log is being created.

    I went to my comp/manage/event log and this came up:

    there was a winmgmt warning that said wmi adap was unable to process the remoteaccess performance library

    there were some apache service errors but they are unrelated.
    it says c: is near capacity. and nvidia display driver terminates unexpectedly.

    the nvidia error appears most frequently so i think that this is the problem, but i dont have any audio devices on my system and the graphics are standard.
    Difficult takes a day, Impossible takes a week~Kthln01!

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    277
    if the nvsvc
    now makes sense - it must be nvidia service.

    but if it was closed, why does my computer shut down?
    Difficult takes a day, Impossible takes a week~Kthln01!

  9. #9
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    nVidia is your graphics card..............If that goes, so does Windows.
    Could be the driver, could be the card on the way out, or even overheating?

    Ask yourself these questions:

    1. Who is responsible for ensuring that I have a fully functional system to be able to do my job?
    2. Who do they report to?
    3. How badly do I need this crappy excuse for a job?

    It is seriously at that level from the way your posts are coming across...............

    Good luck


  10. #10
    AFLAAACKKK!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,066
    I think you need to take a look in your device manager and see if you see any exclamation marks... You might see one next to the display adapters section.

    Even if you don't see one update the driver. Asking your IT department for a clean install would probably be the best solution. They should be able to save and transfer any important files you need. Nihil had some good advice as well...
    I am the uber duck!!1
    Proxy Tools

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •