Suggestions for upgrade....
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Suggestions for upgrade....

Cool Suggestions for upgrade....

I am currently looking to upgrade my 1.5 year old dektop. Unfortunatley the only way I can upgrade it further is with the purchase of a new motherboard and processsor. Currently I own a dell 2400 dektop. The motherboard sucks because it has been stripped down to where it only has 3 pci slots and the agp slot is missing. The case (tower) is a mid size case I believe. Would it be possible for me to replace the motherboard in this case (tower) or should I buy a new one? I am a college student so I really dont have the cash for a new system. I plan to upgrade the rest of the computer later on.
    Anyways I am looking to spend no more than 400 dollars on the motherboard and processor. I would prefer an amd processor. Any suggestions to what I should purchase would also be helpful. The system is mainly used as a gaming machine and upgrades should reflect this.

Here are my full system specs:
    Pentium 4 2.2 ghz with 400 mhz frontside bus
    1 gig ram @ 266 mhz
    radeon 9250 with 256 video memory
    soundblaster live 24 bit
    The motherboard is whatever came stock with the system.

If I recall correctly that is a MicroATX format case so your choice of motherboards will be somewhat limited by comparison to full ATX.

I would get a new case and power supply, particularly if you are going AMD. Firstly you will need a compatible MoBo, but the larger form factor case will make it easier to keep cool.

My personal advice would be to save up for a new system. My argument being that what you have cannot really be improved significantly (no AGP slot ) without major expenditure, that would be almost equivalent to buying new anyway?