WhoamI.exe question
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: WhoamI.exe question

  1. #1
    Senior Member treanglin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    110

    WhoamI.exe question

    Okay, so I'm preparing a tutorial on windows shortcut key's and built-in command prompt programs but I have a little question. While using the whoami command, under the [Group 1] section I get a Domain \none result. Does this mean that I am not member of the domain or what? I can only guess. I searched google and the MS knowledgebase and I'm still confused.
    "Do you know why the system is slow?" they ask

    "It's probably something to do with..." I look up today's excuse ".. clock speed"
    -BOFH

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,199
    its means that the computer is not part of the domain... was the computer you were running this on part of a domain?
    Everyone is going to die, I am just as good of a reason as any.

    http://think-smarter.blogspot.com

  3. #3
    Senior Member treanglin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    110
    Well the computer i ran it on a few minutes ago was not part of a domain. However this morning I was fooling around in a computer store with a computer that should be on a domain but I got the same thing. I guess I'll have to go back to the store and ask them.
    "Do you know why the system is slow?" they ask

    "It's probably something to do with..." I look up today's excuse ".. clock speed"
    -BOFH

  4. #4
    THE Bastard Sys***** dinowuff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Third planet from the Sun
    Posts
    1,247
    Whoami Displays the CURRENT username and domain.

    Displays the complete contents of the access token in the command window. Displays the user name and security identifier (SID), the group names, types, attributes and their SIDs, the

    WHOAMI 2.0 @1997. Written by Christophe Robert(chrisrob@microsoft.com).

    WHOAMI [/option] [/option] ...

    Where /option is one of the following:

    /ALL = Display all information in the current access token.
    /NOVERBOSE = Display minimal information. *
    /USER = Display user.
    /GROUPS = Display groups.
    /PRIV = Display privileges.
    /LOGONID = Display Logon ID.
    /SID = Display SIDs. *
    /HELP = Display help.

    * Must be used with option /USER, /GROUPS, /PRIV or/LOGONID

    Samples are as follows:

    WHOAMI
    WHOAMI /ALL
    WHOAMI /USER /SID
    WHOAMI /GROUPS
    WHOAMI /GROUPS /NOVERBOSE
    WHOAMI /USER /GROUPS /SID
    WHOAMI /PRIV /NOVERBOSE
    WHOAMI /USER /GROUPS /PRIV
    WHOAMI /HELP

    If it displays only %USERNAME% then you are not logged onto the pc with a domain account.
    09:F9:11:02:9D:74:E3:5B8:41:56:C5:63:56:88:C0

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    218
    Here is a thought... right click on "My Computer", go to properties, then network identification and see for yourself. You will either be in a workgroup, or a domain... and it sounds like a workgroup.

    You can also use the little built in windows help file about whoami, or if you are too cool for that, try google.com
    \"Computer games don\'t affect kids; I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, we\'d all be running around in darkened rooms munching magic pills and listening to repetitive electronic music.\" Kristian Wilson, Nintendo, Inc. 1989

  6. #6
    Senior Member Maestr0's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    604
    http://antionline.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=245868

    As stated, it means the machine is NOT a member of a domain.

    -Maestr0
    \"If computers are to become smart enough to design their own successors, initiating a process that will lead to God-like omniscience after a number of ever swifter passages from one generation of computers to the next, someone is going to have to write the software that gets the process going, and humans have given absolutely no evidence of being able to write such software.\" -Jaron Lanier

  7. #7
    Senior Member treanglin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    110
    Oh wow. :-/ I feel really dumb now. I looked at that same thread and i must have been rushing or something.
    "Do you know why the system is slow?" they ask

    "It's probably something to do with..." I look up today's excuse ".. clock speed"
    -BOFH

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides