how to make FF look like IE to web server
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: how to make FF look like IE to web server

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    534

    how to make FF look like IE to web server

    there's setting somewhere i cannot find it ... pls does anyone know this off the top of their head

  2. #2
    THE Bastard Sys***** dinowuff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Third planet from the Sun
    Posts
    1,250
    09:F9:11:02:9D:74:E3:5B8:41:56:C5:63:56:88:C0

  3. #3
    Senior Member DakX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    128
    I don't think that thats what he means. That extension only enables you to right click a page an chose to view it in IE.
    Can you please specifie what you want unhappy?
    [T]he future is now.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    723
    There is an extension to change the browsers identifiction , can't remember the name though so do some leg/finger work.
    Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.
    The international ban against torturing prisoners of war does not necessarily apply to suspects detained in America\'s war on terror, Attorney General John Ashcroft told a Senate oversight committee
    -- true colors revealed, a brown shirt and jackboots

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    534
    "You must spread your AntiPoints around before giving it to dinowuff again."

    thanx ... that'll help too

    BUT

    your browser identifies itself to the server (w/ header i think of some kind) ... i would like my firefox to identify itself as IE ... i heard that there's a setting somewhere

  6. #6
    THE Bastard Sys***** dinowuff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Third planet from the Sun
    Posts
    1,250
    Unhappy:

    Your right - Iv'e seen that and know exactly what you're talking about.

    /me runs off to search my pile of tips and tricks

    edit: pile of tips on home database not connected to the network. I'll look tonight when I get home
    09:F9:11:02:9D:74:E3:5B8:41:56:C5:63:56:88:C0

  7. #7
    Senior Member DakX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    128
    I have searched with everything i could come up with. I didn't find anything that makes a server think you are using IE. I did find a theme that makes firefox look like IE 6.0 But that has been deleted. Sorry but this was the best I could do. You can try it youself but i tried: chagne, browser , identity, change identity, IE, internet explorer and a few more. If you do find it tell me because i am intressted
    [T]he future is now.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    4,786
    Maybe This


    Add, modify and filter http request headers.
    some local proxy software, like proxomitron allow you to do ths as well
    Bukhari:V3B48N826 “The Prophet said, ‘Isn’t the witness of a woman equal to half of that of a man?’ The women said, ‘Yes.’ He said, ‘This is because of the deficiency of a woman’s mind.’”

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    557
    Hi

    What you are looking for is the user agent switcher[1].

    The only (...) way a server can decide, which browser is accessing a
    page, is by reading out the $_SERVER["HTTP_USER_AGENT"] environment
    variable. After some string-analysis, the server "knows" what he is
    dealing with. This also is possible with Tedob1's suggestion, but maybe,
    not as comfortable ?


    Cheers



    [1] http://chrispederick.com/work/firefo...agentswitcher/
    If the only tool you have is a hammer, you tend to see every problem as a nail.
    (Abraham Maslow, Psychologist, 1908-70)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •