http://uptime.netcraft.com/ hide/fake os?
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: http://uptime.netcraft.com/ hide/fake os?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    12

    Question http://uptime.netcraft.com/ hide/fake os?

    http://uptime.netcraft.com/up/accuracy.html#os

    Anyone had any success/know how to do it?
    Worked before, It was only to change ttl and a couple of other things.
    Have also played around with Apache. ( With the binary among other things ) But it doesnt matter.
    Obviously/naturally i have changed the server/banner to be something else. ( Microsoft-IIS/6.0
    It swallows that without any problem. but the os identifys non the less correctly.
    I have googled as a madman, but havent found anything new about netcraft.


    Sorry for my crappy english.

    /Thomas

  2. #2
    AO Senior Cow-beller
    Moderator
    zencoder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Mountain standard tribe.
    Posts
    1,177
    Don't cross post.
    "Data is not necessarily information. Information does not necessarily lead to knowledge. And knowledge is not always sufficient to discover truth and breed wisdom." --Spaf
    Anyone who is capable of getting themselves made president should on no account be allowed to do the job. --Douglas Adams (1952-2001)
    "...people find it far easier to forgive others for being wrong than being right." - Albus Percival Wulfric Brian Dumbledore

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    12
    Sorry. :/
    Screwed it up when i translated it.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    92
    Wouldn't you need to spoof the TCP stack http://kerneltrap.org/node/770 I realise this is probably not much help, but hopefully I have put you on the right track. But I could be wrong
    I\'m Dying To Find Out The Hard Way

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    12
    Thanks, But "been there tried that". ( And i use Linux )

    Wouldn't you need to spoof the TCP stack http://kerneltrap.org/node/770 I realise this is probably not much help, but hopefully I have put you on the right track. But I could be wrong

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •