Microsoft ISA
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Microsoft ISA

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    534

    Microsoft ISA

    Is this "Windows" ... what kind of kernel does it use??
    Does it have bigger footprint then a BSD box??

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,199
    Its not an operating system in itself, more like an add on.

    http://www.microsoft.com/isaserver/default.mspx
    Everyone is going to die, I am just as good of a reason as any.

    http://think-smarter.blogspot.com

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    534
    I went to their page before but I don't understand...

    Do I have to buy windows and then install this thing or does it only come pre-installed...

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,130
    Originally posted here by unhappy
    I went to their page before but I don't understand...

    Do I have to buy windows and then install this thing or does it only come pre-installed...
    You need to buy Windows AND ISA.

    ISA is kind of "proxy cache and a firewall".... inst free. Think about Checkpoint FW-1. Same idea.
    It runs over Windows. (or under? I never know )
    Meu sítio

    FORMAT C: Yes ...Yes??? ...Nooooo!!! ^C ^C ^C ^C ^C
    If I die before I sleep, I pray the Lord my soul to encrypt.
    If I die before I wake, I pray the Lord my soul to brake.

  5. #5
    The Iceman Cometh
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    1,210
    There are a number of pre-built solutions that use Windows Server 2003 and ISA 2004 (a list of some can be found here) if you don't want to have to deal with installing and configuring it the first time yourself, but you're still going to have to know about how ISA works to change the configuration to suit your network.

    AJ

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •