SANS Webcasts for August
Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: SANS Webcasts for August

  1. #1
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Redondo Beach, CA

    SANS Webcasts for August

    I get these emails from SANS from time-to-time that advertise their webcasts. I thought I'd pass them on to others. What I will say is that I'm please to see them address the small-to-medium business security issues. Everything I see today is for big monster corporation stuff that benefits from economies of scale. Small businesses (which represent in the US and Canada somewhere between 40-60% of all business types) are often overlooked.

    Anyways, these are free to partake in. Enjoy!

    First Wednesday Webcast: "Network Security for Small-Midsized Companies"
    Featuring: Johannes Ullrich
    Wednesday, August 03 at 1:00 PM EDT (1700 UTC)

    Internet Storm Center: "Threat Update"
    Featuring: Johannes Ullrich and Jeffrey Cassidy
    Wednesday, August 10 at 2:00 PM EDT (1800 UTC)
    Sponsored by: Core Security Technologies

    "What Works in Stopping Spyware"
    Featuring: Tom White and Alan Paller
    Tuesday, August 23 at 1:00 PM EDT (1700 UTC)
    Sponsored by: Sunbelt Software

    Secure Software Webcast Series: "Effective Encryption"
    Featuring: David Read
    Thursday, August 25 at 1:00 PM EDT (1700 UTC)
    Sponsored by: Secure Software

    "What Works in Log Management"
    Featuring: Pete J. Boergermann and Alan Paller
    Wednesday, August 31 at 11:00 AM EDT (1500 UTC)
    Sponsored by: LogLogic
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

  2. #2
    AO Senior Cow-beller
    zencoder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Mountain standard tribe.
    I tend to like the "What Works" ones the most. Some may argue that they are glossed over sales pitches, but you can't beat the price to get some inside info on a product that another has already bought and deployed.
    "Data is not necessarily information. Information does not necessarily lead to knowledge. And knowledge is not always sufficient to discover truth and breed wisdom." --Spaf
    Anyone who is capable of getting themselves made president should on no account be allowed to do the job. --Douglas Adams (1952-2001)
    "...people find it far easier to forgive others for being wrong than being right." - Albus Percival Wulfric Brian Dumbledore

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts