Auto Logon NT4 box w/ a blank admin password
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Auto Logon NT4 box w/ a blank admin password

  1. #1
    Webius Designerous Indiginous
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    1,123

    Auto Logon NT4 box w/ a blank admin password

    I am looking for a way to auto logon an NT 4 machine from the logon prompt.

    I have used the registry hack for AutoAdminLogon = 1, DefaultUsername = "administrator", DefaultPassword = "", DefaultDomain = "computer_name".

    Only problem is that because the current password is blank, NT will always turn the AutoAdminLogon = 0, thusly disabling the autoadminlogon.

    Oh, and changing the admin password from blank is apparently not an option.


    While on the subject, can win9x do this also, but this time on a domain rather than locally?

    Thanks,
    xmaddness

  2. #2
    THE Bastard Sys***** dinowuff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Third planet from the Sun
    Posts
    1,252
    xmaddness:

    Show last logon must be enabled or autologon will be disabled. Sorry can't help with 9x.
    09:F9:11:02:9D:74:E3:5B8:41:56:C5:63:56:88:C0

  3. #3
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    Windows NT/2K provides Registry settings that can be set so that a user is automatically logged in the next time the system would otherwise put up the logon dialog box. However, the Registry values are hidden very deep, and are a pain to configure. This program, Autologon, will do the Registry configuration for you, and allow you to enable and disable auto-logon when you want.
    Attached is the utility...which I downloaded from MS years ago

    This is specifically for an NT4 machine.

    Disclaimer......

    Download and use at your own risk!!!!!

    (although...it works great)



    HTHs

    MLF
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    277
    does TweakUI handle this for Windows 9x?
    Difficult takes a day, Impossible takes a week~Kthln01!

  5. #5
    Webius Designerous Indiginous
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    1,123
    Thank you for the program. Here is a bit more info to the story.

    I am able to make the changes, and reboot the machine, and it works perfectly the first time it is booted up. Although once it is started and up, NT must then make the change in the registry to autoadminlogon = 0. Can I write a .reg file to set this to one, and execute this with a logon.bat file? Without having it prompt to accept the change in the reg?

  6. #6
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    Are you part of a network.....??

    I used this for an autologon...locally...and had a program startup....the machine didnot require network access...and was a standalone.

    I never had to reset...just disabled when I didnt require anymore or I needed to logon to the network.

    Sorry cant help out anymore......

    Your domain policys may be interfering???

    MLF
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

  7. #7
    Webius Designerous Indiginous
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    1,123
    We are part of a network, but this box is a local server to the machine. It only has share access to some network shares.

    I read on MS's website there is no password, then windows will disable the autoadminlogon, which is exactly what it is doing.

  8. #8
    Webius Designerous Indiginous
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    1,123
    thinking of adding this to the logon.bat file.


    REG UPDATE HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon\AutoAdminLogon=1

    Will that work correctly?

  9. #9
    THE Bastard Sys***** dinowuff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Third planet from the Sun
    Posts
    1,252
    I don't think you can edit the registry with a log on script in nt4. OR more to the point, logon scripts run immed after logging on. There is a registry hack to allow this, but I never got it to work.

    Since you have autologon enabled. Give the administrator a password.

    Reboot and hold down the shift key until you have a logon screen. Administrator should be listed in the user name box.

    Enter the password and reboot. Should log on automatically
    09:F9:11:02:9D:74:E3:5B8:41:56:C5:63:56:88:C0

  10. #10
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    Or create a user with admin privledges...with a password and use that to login??

    Something doesnt sound right...why can you not change the admin password???

    MLF
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •