Using Windows Server 2003 as domain controller.
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Using Windows Server 2003 as domain controller.

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Hawaii
    Posts
    351

    Using Windows Server 2003 as domain controller.

    Okay, here's the home setup:

    2Wire Homeportal attached to a computer downstairs.
    The Homeportal is configured to use DHCP on 172.16.0.0/255.255.0.0

    Every computer in the house is on the Homeportals network, and uses it for internet connections, including my server. The server has a 2Wire 'Sharkfin' USB adapter, and the client that I'm trying to connect to it has a D-Link DWL-G630.

    The Server runs Windows Server 2003 Enterprise Edition
    The Client runs Windows XP Professional SP2
    The other computers don't count because they are irrelevant.

    When I view the properties of my wireless connection on the server, I have the following installed:
    Client for MS Networks
    File and Printer Sharing
    Network Monitor Driver
    TCP/IP

    The client has:
    Client for MS Networks
    File and Printer Sharing
    Network Monitor Driver
    TCP/IP
    AEGIS Protocol (IEEE 802.1x v2.3.1.9)
    QoS Packet Scheduler

    I do not want my laptop ysing the server's internet connection, I want it to use it's own connection to the Homeportal, but I do want users to be requires to logon through the domain.

    When I try to add the client to the domain, it says it can't find the domain. The domain's name is V.org. So I tried running the NetID wizard, and it tells me that it found an account for my computer on the server, and asks if I'd like to use it. I click "Yes", but then I get an error.

    It says that "the domain controller for the domain V could not be contacted. Ensure the the domain name is typed correctly."

    I then click "Details" and it says that "The domain name V might me a NetBIOS domain name. If this is the case, verify that the domain name is properly registered with WINS. If you are certain that the name is not a NetBIOS name, then the following information can help you...."

    The actual error: "DNS name does not exist"
    error code 0x0000232B RCODE_NAME_ERROR

    Then it says that the query was for the SRV record for _ldap._tcp._msdcs.V


    A_T
    Geek isn't just a four-letter word; it's a six-figure income.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Hawaii
    Posts
    351
    Also, I want one of the computers to be DMZPlus, because there is no way to just turn off the firewall for a single computer....so that PC gets a public IP.

    A_T
    Geek isn't just a four-letter word; it's a six-figure income.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Hawaii
    Posts
    351
    Alright, as long as neither is DMZPlus...I got it to work. I specified the client's IP address, as well as the DNS server, I set the DNS server, and the gateway to 172.16.0.1, the Homeportal. I had to have the computer connect to the "V" domain, and not "V.org".

    But logging on takes about 3-5 minutes, why?
    Also, the new user has all the default XP settings. Is there any way to copy the settings and files over from the client's local user?

    A_T
    Geek isn't just a four-letter word; it's a six-figure income.

  4. #4
    AO's Resident Redneck The Texan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,539
    You just add your new user to a group with the settings customized the way you want them ( put the user in the administrators group etc...) Log on most likely takes so long because it is "searching" for the right domain to go into.
    Git R Dun - Ty
    A tribe is wanted

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •