What firewall would you recommend?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: What firewall would you recommend?

Hybrid View

  1. #1

    Cool What firewall would you recommend?

    Whar is your best firewall you use?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    34
    Can I borrow this thread, sir? To save postage.... and to further expound upon this inquiry. I'll be commandeering this thread so what I ask now, is assistance. I am presenting the same question. Only I wish to install a corporate level firewall, on a mock- online game network. Pure generics. None the less, this trial is project status.. so I need to know the best firewall one would recommend for a Linux server hosting an online game. Is it really IPtables..?

  3. #3
    @ΜĮЙǐЅŦГǻţΩЯ D0pp139an93r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    1,689
    Quote Originally Posted by ngboot
    Can I borrow this thread, sir? To save postage.... and to further expound upon this inquiry. I'll be commandeering this thread so what I ask now, is assistance. I am presenting the same question. Only I wish to install a corporate level firewall, on a mock- online game network. Pure generics. None the less, this trial is project status.. so I need to know the best firewall one would recommend for a Linux server hosting an online game. Is it really IPtables..?
    To follow up with SirDice's post... I would avoid having anything except the game software and necessary system components on the server. Any added components are going to make it more exploitable. Checkpoint and PIX both have excellent filtering capabilities, and are highly configurable and scalable. Although, they are very expensive. If you cannot afford a solution like that, my advice would be to set up a dedicated gateway using Linux and IPTables.

    EDIT: Snort maybe? Some IDS functionality?
    Real security doesn't come with an installer.

  4. #4
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    Corporate level firewall would be PIX or Checkpoint.. Both very expensive...
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    India
    Posts
    289
    Well, I have never been in a corporate office till now (save those where I am a CUSTOMER!) but still, I would ask a question:

    Some of the experts I see here do rely on Hardware firewalls more than the software firewalls on ANY Operating System. That might be true. But does't that mean that they are not upgradable?
    "Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler."

    - Albert Einstein

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    21
    I used to have Norton and then avg, one day when I ran the avast antivirus I got about 200 virus(no kidding).
    Now I use Zonealarm (besides the windows firewall) and got almost no problem with virus, the ones I got came from pendrives. Don't know if there is any better firewall, that's the one I use

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    119
    In the corporate environment I recommend a Cisco ASA, a NetScreen, or Checkpoint on Nokia. I would never ever ever run any software firewall on a windows platform in a corporate environment.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    34
    For our generic project we're gonna use one of the 500 series Cisco pix models.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747
    As SireDice said, if you want corporate level, your going to be going with Cisco Pix, Checkpoint, sonicwall, Juniper...etc etc.

    IPtables would be effective...another alternative would be one I use on my linux servers that I also do some game hosting on. That would be.

    APF
    http://rfxnetworks.com/apf.php

    APF basically lets you till it what ports you want open, and it closes the rest. Simple yet effective. It also lets you specify ports before you start the service which is nice. Especially if you configure the servers remotely like I do. Lets you not lock yourself out


    **EDIT**

    Bah..didn't see the second page.

    I've worked with the Pix 535 before. Good firewall.
    Last edited by cheyenne1212; October 13th, 2007 at 12:08 AM.
    =

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747
    Doesn't that mean that the hardware firewalls aren't upgradeable?

    Depends.

    Usually the way the hardware firewalls work, is you buy the appliance itself, along with a certain feature set which you must purchase the license for. Generally, you can buy another license to unlock features on your appliance which may have been previously unavailable to you.
    =

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides