Ontario could soon allow the use of shariah law
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ontario could soon allow the use of shariah law

Ontario could soon allow the use of shariah law

Hey Hey,

I know that a lot of you tend to think that I hate the US and only attack the US government... that's not true... it's just that they give me more reasons than most of the other governments that I pay attention to...

Here's something from my own government that's got me thinking about heading out of province or possibly to Europe.... (I just realized that now that I'm a graduate, I'm free to go pretty much anywhere I want... )

Anyways... on with the ridiculous news

Source: http://www.canoe.ca/NewsStand/London...08530-sun.html
    Angry demonstrators likened the premier of Ontario to Afghanistan's extremist Taliban leaders yesterday as they urged Dalton McGuinty to dismiss the idea of allowing the use of shariah law to settle family disputes.

About 300 people gathered outside the Ontario legislature for a protest billed as a global campaign to discourage the province from becoming the first Western jurisdiction to permit the use of religious rules critics consider an affront to human rights.
    Further searching lead me to this...

Source: http://www.theglobeandmail.com/servl...nal/TopStories
    Progressive Conservative Leader John Tory acknowledged that the government is grappling with a difficult issue, one that is hugely emotional for both sides.

"What's paramount in this is that the rights of women can not in any way be diminished," he said.

The government asked Ms. Boyd to study the issue after Syed Mumtaz Ali, a retired Muslim lawyer, established the Islamic Institute for Civil Justice, with an aim to train imams and religious scholars to resolve civil disputes.