If you like to Read
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: If you like to Read

  1. #1
    T̙͓̞̣̯ͦͭͅͅȂͧͭͧ̏̈͏̖̖Z̿ ͆̎̄
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    3,171

    If you like to Read

    For those who like to read books...I know...some of you may not understand ...a book is pages of equal sized paper bound by string or glue and then covered with a hard bristle with a print or words...
    for further information...

    http://dictionary.reference.com/search?q=%s
    Dictionary.com Quicksearch



    Our local index includes more than 20,000 English works in various formats that meet these criteria. All should be free for personal, noncommercial use. You can:

    * Search our Listings by Author and Title
    * Browse Our New Listings
    * Browse by Author
    * Browse by Title
    * Browse by Subject
    * Browse serial archives

    See also Books in progress or requested.
    I think Neg posted this or a similiar site a while back.

    http://onlinebooks.library.upenn.edu/lists.html
    The Online Books Page: Book Listings

  2. #2
    Frustrated Mad Scientist
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    1,152
    you probably know but..

    http://www.gutenberg.org/

  3. #3
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    7,324
    I'm old fashioned. I go to this crazy place called a library and get actual books with pages. I'm not a fan of reading a book online (less portable).
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

  4. #4
    ********** |ceWriterguy
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,608
    I'm not a fan of reading a book online (less portable).
    Here here! The internet is a heavy burden to carry about from place to place. It's much easier to carry a book....but we're working to fix that.

    (For the record, I, too, cherish the printed page above all else. There will come a day in our not too distant future when they'll be considered a rare commodity, and readers of them will be considered "old fashioned" or "antique collectors.")
    Even a broken watch is correct twice a day.

    Which coder said that nobody could outcode Microsoft in their own OS? Write a bit and make a fortune!

  5. #5
    T̙͓̞̣̯ͦͭͅͅȂͧͭͧ̏̈͏̖̖Z̿ ͆̎̄
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    3,171
    Hi MsM,
    I'm old fashioned. I go to this crazy place called a library and get actual books with pages. I'm not a fan of reading a book online (less portable).
    You know you can download or print off these books for free private use

    Eg

    __________________

  6. #6
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    7,324
    You know you can download or print off these books for free private use
    Ya, ya. But there is something to a dog-eared paperback that just says... "relaxing".
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

  7. #7
    In And Above Man Black Cluster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    912
    For over 200-page reading book, I prefer hardpapers reading, preferebly in a public liberary. The best place in my city is the British Council and the Grand Public Liberary.

    Thanks for the link, Eg!. Bookmarked!

    Cheers
    \"The only truly secure system is one that is powered off, cast in a block of concrete and sealed in a lead-lined room with armed guards - and even then I have my doubts\".....Spaf
    Everytime I learn a new thing, I discover how ignorant I am.- ... Black Cluster

  8. #8
    rebmeM roineS enilnOitnA steve.milner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,018
    Reading in the bath is best done _without_ electonics.

    I'm a big paper book fan too

    Steve
    IT, e-commerce, Retail, Programme & Project Management, EPoS, Supply Chain and Logistic Services. Yorkshire. http://www.bigi.uk.com

  9. #9
    AO Decepticon CXGJarrod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    2,038
    Personally, I am also a fan of the printed word. For me, I cant really get comfy with the laptop in bed and read. With a book its easy.
    N00b> STFU i r teh 1337 (english: You must be mistaken, good sir or madam. I believe myself to be quite a good player. On an unrelated matter, I also apparently enjoy math.)

  10. #10
    T̙͓̞̣̯ͦͭͅͅȂͧͭͧ̏̈͏̖̖Z̿ ͆̎̄
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    3,171
    If you like books then you should really check out this thread...and go ' home ' then to the book section...

    http://www.antionline.com/showthread...hreadid=270400
    AntiOnline - You Have To check This Out

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •