Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Knoppix STD

Knoppix STD

Hello everyone,

I have found a distro of knoppix called,"Knoppix STD".After a search of the forums,I have discovered some posts where it is mentioned.I am fairly new to linux, so I am wondering if this software is too advanced for me at this point.I can navigate the console, and I have a decent knowledge of the unix file system.But password recovery, encryption,pen testing and autopsies remain mysterious yet enticing realms.Some reviews laude it as a great system for the novice security student, and others say it is only for the experienced.

Before I get in over my head,I would appreciate your opinions: will this distro develop my security skills,or will it simply frustrate me?
    It seems to be peaceful,but it is incorrect.CATS is still alive.
    Zig-01 must fight CATS again.And down with them completely!
    GOOD LUCK!

Hey there pshannon
    If you are fairly new to linux, some of the Knoppix STD tools will definately be a little hard to handle. However, as far as a distro designed for security goes, it is one of the best.

What I would recommend for you is to not discard it entirely, but revisit it every so often when you start to get yourself more experienced in the field. You will find that either something that was puzzling beforehand is now clear or also, something that you are learning may be further explained by seeing the practical application of it in a tool.

My $0.02 on it at least. Hope this helps

Tek

That cd basically stays in the laptop that's in my car. It's my GPS

Dive right in.....get the feel on a live.

knoppix std is a great way to get into security and linux as well. Now that you see what tools are available with knoppix read up on them and learn how to use them. There are mans and websites devoted to all of them. Google is your friend!

cheers.
    kr5kernel
    (kr5kernel at hotmail dot com)
    Linux: Making Penguins Cool Since 1994.