Windows freezing
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Windows freezing

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    5

    Windows freezing

    Hi all

    Recently my computer keeps freezing once booted up.
    A strange clicking noise comes from the base unit and after a while the icons on the desktop disappear and it just sits like that with the clicking noise.

    I opened the base up and powered on, the noise seems to be coming from the hard drive.

    Do yous think a new hard drive will resolve the problem?

    Thanks
    aaronmcl

    Also, my computer is about 5 years old, so will a new hard drive work ok in it?

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,161
    Try hooking another HDD in if you can.

  3. #3
    AO's Resident Redneck The Texan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,539
    Give us your specs plz ( OS, ram, maker of ur HDD etc...) that will help out alot.
    Git R Dun - Ty
    A tribe is wanted

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    5
    i dont have another hdd, im gonna have to buy a new one, theres no-one i can ask for a lend of one either

    windows xp
    128mb
    no name on hdd

  5. #5
    AFLAAACKKK!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,066
    Yes, a new HDD will work on your computer, but stick to IDE because I doubt your board has onboard SATA... In this case it would seem that your HDD is about to fail...?? Better be safe then sorry and get a new HDD and transfer your files from your old one to the new one... I know, pain in the ass and not to cost effective... Try to borrow one if you can, from another computer in the house or a friend...
    I am the uber duck!!1
    Proxy Tools

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    5
    thanks for the reply, thats all i wanted!

  7. #7
    T̙͓̞̣̯ͦͭͅͅȂͧͭͧ̏̈͏̖̖Z̿ ͆̎̄
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    3,171
    Hi aaronmcl,

    Thank-you for your PM...

    its hardly spamming the forums d@ckhead, 2 posts!!!
    After the_JinX asked you not to make two threads concerning the same subject your reply to him was such I felt you deserved to be negged.

    Your wonderful reply assures me that I was right.

    Thank-you and have a nice day!

    Eg

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    349
    hi hmmm,
    you have xp on 128 mg memory?
    that can be cause of your freezing system.
    128 mg memory is not sufficient to run xp and as your system is 5 yers old it wouldn be newer type of memory either.
    thats definitelly not enough to run that os.
    but at the same time hard drive can be failing too.
    Just my 2 cents.

  9. #9
    They call me the Hunted foxyloxley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    3rd Rock from Sun
    Posts
    2,528
    Get your glad rags on because you're going SHOPPING

    New HDD [IDE as stated - at LEAST as big as the original - 40GB are cheapest nowadays though]
    RAM grab a couple of sticks of 256MB SDR [check the old one for speed - I suspect 100MHZ, although 133MHz will do, IF they are matched]

    then whilst out, head to the local A+E, and have them pull that stick out of your Butt ..........

    its hardly spamming the forums d@ckhead, 2 posts!!!
    Charming .......

    I WAS wondering how you had got to grey when all your posts are in this thread ........
    55 - I'm fiftyfeckinfive and STILL no wiser,
    OLDER yes
    Beware of Geeks bearing GIF's
    come and waste the day :P at The Taz Zone

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •