apache and subdomain
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: apache and subdomain

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    227

    apache and subdomain

    Hi all!

    I and my friends bought a domain called lazyheads.com. The domain is forwarded to our home computer using our home IP address. We would like to use a subdomain called skeleti so the address would be skeleti.lazyheads.com.

    I go to our registrar web page and add subdomain skeleti. I also redirect this subdomain to the same IP address as the main domain lazyhead.com.

    I also set virtual host at httpd.conf. I use:

    NameVirtualHost 213.220.215.240:80

    <VirtualHost 213.220.215.240:80>
    DocumentRoot /var/www/htdocs/
    ServerName lazyheads.com
    </VirtualHost>

    <VirtualHost 213.220.215.240:80>
    DocumentRoot /var/www/htdocs/skeleti/
    ServerName skeleti.lazyheads.com
    ErrorLog /var/www/htdocs/skeleti/logs/error_log
    CustomLog /var/www/htdocs/skeleti/logs/access_log combined
    </VirtualHost>
    Problem is, that even if I try to open lazyheads.com or skeleti.lazyheads.com I still get the same page. It looks like the my config changes does nothing to the server behavior. Anyone knows what am I doing wrong?

    Thank you very much for your answers!
    http://promote.opera.com/small/opera94x15.gif

    [gloworange]Sun7dots[/gloworange]

  2. #2
    Jaded Network Admin nebulus200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,356
    Is the server itself able to resolve those names? Have you tried it without the :80 on the end ? (it shouldn't be needed since 80 is the standard port)


    EDIT: Compared what I have done on my server and what you have, and the only difference (aside from custom server configs) is that for the namevirtualhost and virtualhost directives, I used the actual default servername...really shouldn't matter though...apache is going to be looking at the Host: < > token that is passed by the browser ... and will compare that to the servername line ... the big thing is consistency in naming the virtualhost with the namevirtualhost...

    Name resolution:
    Non-authoritative answer:
    skeleti.lazyheads.com canonical name = lazyheads.com.
    Name: lazyheads.com
    Address: 213.220.215.240

    Non-authoritative answer:
    Name: lazyheads.com
    Address: 213.220.215.240
    There is only one constant, one universal, it is the only real truth: causality. Action. Reaction. Cause and effect...There is no escape from it, we are forever slaves to it. Our only hope, our only peace is to understand it, to understand the 'why'. 'Why' is what separates us from them, you from me. 'Why' is the only real social power, without it you are powerless.

    (Merovingian - Matrix Reloaded)

  3. #3
    Leftie Linux Lover the_JinX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Beverwijk Netherlands
    Posts
    2,535
    can't resolve skeleti.lazyheads.com (here)

    could that be the problem ??
    ASCII stupid question, get a stupid ANSI.
    When in Russia, pet a PETSCII.

    Get your ass over to SLAYRadio the best station for C64 Remixes !

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    227
    Problem is solved!

    Apache configuration was right, there was a mistake in the redirection I set at my registrar pages.

    But thank you all for your answers anyway.
    http://promote.opera.com/small/opera94x15.gif

    [gloworange]Sun7dots[/gloworange]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •