Help required identifying Intel processor
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 43

Thread: Help required identifying Intel processor

  1. #1

    Help required identifying Intel processor

    Hi guys,
    A friend of mine just gave me an Intel D850MV motherboard and P4 processor.
    Only thing is, he can't remember what the clock speed of the processor is.
    I was wondering, is there a way to identify the processor by the long alphanumerical text strings printed on the top of the processor?
    On the assumption that there is, here are the strings:

    1) L237A243-0124

    2) 88532PE003512


    Oh yeah, I did a Google on "identify intel processor" and I came up with links to:

    1) Intel's Processor Identification utility which is a piece of software that needs to be installed once you've got your processor installed. No help to me, because I want to know BEFORE I rebuild my box.
    2) a lot of old pages that refer to older processors. No good to me.
    3) a couple of pages that spoke about P4 processors, but nothing I could find seem relevent to the numbers I quoted above.

    Keen to hear if anyone has other ideas.
    Cheers,
    Bruce.
    Audio2U
    The home of quality podcasts

  2. #2
    They call me the Hunted foxyloxley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    3rd Rock from Sun
    Posts
    2,528
    Have you tried to see what the max capability of the board is ???

    Google IS your friend
    55 - I'm fiftyfeckinfive and STILL no wiser,
    OLDER yes
    Beware of Geeks bearing GIF's
    come and waste the day :P at The Taz Zone

  3. #3
    I followed your link (thanks for that one!), but really, that just lets me know that the processor is going to be somewhere between a 1.4Ghz and a 2.6GHz.
    I was hoping to find out exactly what chip it was!
    Cheers,
    Bruce.
    Audio2U
    The home of quality podcasts

  4. #4
    They call me the Hunted foxyloxley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    3rd Rock from Sun
    Posts
    2,528
    that took me less than 10 seconds to find, just how much do you want us to do

    as you might have guessed, it also tapped out my meagre capabilities too

    [edit]
    the 512 in the 2nd # 'might' correspond to the cache size ???
    narrows it down [not ]
    55 - I'm fiftyfeckinfive and STILL no wiser,
    OLDER yes
    Beware of Geeks bearing GIF's
    come and waste the day :P at The Taz Zone

  5. #5
    Sorry, I didn't mean to sound like I wasn't prepared to do my own searching too.
    It was just that (as suggested by my first post) I thought there was a way to identify a processor by the codes printed on top of such.
    Cheers,
    Bruce.
    Audio2U
    The home of quality podcasts

  6. #6
    AFLAAACKKK!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,066
    Why don't you just build a temporary box and use some software like everest to figure it out... you would have had the answer by now...
    I am the uber duck!!1
    Proxy Tools

  7. #7
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    I guess you are going to have to build it. I ran those numbers through the intel product search and an independent database, and got nothing

    Looking at them they don't "seem right" either, from a product identification viewpoint?

    You can determine an AMD processor from the numbers but I do not think that this is the case with Intel, except those with an sS number?

    Do you know what make of machine the kit came out of?..................they may not even be Intel numbers.




  8. #8
    Old ancient one vanman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Freestate,South Africa
    Posts
    570
    I would do what the duck and foxloxly has suggested..build a temp box and then get sofware like cpu-z or sis sandra to identify your hardwarehttp://www.softpedia.com/progDownloa...load-6980.html http://www.sisoftware.co.uk/?dir=new...se&langx=en&a=
    Practise what you preach.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    1,675
    Well I can help some right quick but I have to leave. I'll check again when I get back in town in two days.

    L237A243-0124

    L237

    L= the country is was made in (Malaysia), 2 = 2002 (the year it was made), 37 = the 37th week of the year it was made.


    Your turn

    A243-0124


    88532PE003512

    88532PE 003 512

    !~cheers~!
    Connection refused, try again later.

  10. #10
    Mmm, thanks for that one and all.
    I was hoping to find an asnwer before building a box, as the MB in question doesn't include on board graphics, which means my only other option is to disassemble my current box and rebuild it with this MB and CPU.
    Of course, as you can imagine, I'm not too keen on disrupting my current system if I then find out that the "new" MB and CPU represents a slower combination than my existing system!
    I'm currently running an AMD Athlon XP2800+ on an Asus A7V8X-X MB with 1 GB of RAM.
    The Intel board only has 512MB of... is it RIMM? RAMBUS? Plucked if I know. Whatever it's called, there's only half a gig of it versus the whole gig I've currently got.
    Oh well, looks like I'll just have to do as you all suggest... build it anyway, and if I don't like, rebuild it again!
    Thanks for all the input.
    Cheers,
    Bruce.
    Audio2U
    The home of quality podcasts

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •